Posted under Race Reports on July 13th, 2014

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) July 12, 2014 Results- Like in NASCAR Kyle Bush will race anything with wheels. Often sweeping entire weekends in the Truck, Nationwide and Cup series. Saturday night Billy LeMieux did the same by scoring a clean sweep in the IMCA Stock Cars and in the Street Stocks for the second time this season at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were James Tebon (IMCA Modified), Scott Boulanger (IMCA Sport Mod) and Derek Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock).

It looked like mother nature had the upper hand coming into night 8 but some how, some way, the first drop of rain fell exactly as the final Coors Light checker flag flew. As drama unfolded in each event, either for the win or in the super tight point battles fans were thrilled and on the edge of their seat.

With a super fast racing surface and big cushion up top Jeff Lautenbach jumped to the lead from his front row starting spot of the IMCA Sport Mod main. Lautenbach looked strong running up top as Scott Boulanger, Jarred VanLaanen and co-point leader Ryan LeMieux gave chase. Boulanger found his groove, putting heavy pressure on the leader. As the cross flags flew Lautenbach slid just a little high out of turn 2 and Boulanger capitalized down low and took the lead. Lautenbach wasn’t unable to find the sweet spot and faded out of the top five.

Up front it was now VanLaanen applying constant pressure to the leader with 5 laps remaining. LeMieux then began an assault for the runner up spot. 3 cars locked in a battle for the win as the white flag flew. VanLaanen threw a block on LeMieux and went to work on the leader, diving to the inside on the final corner but Boulanger had just enough left to charge to the checkers scoring the win. It was Boulanger’s second trophy of the weekend as he won his first open wheel feature Friday at Luxemburg driving for Bill Hayes. VanLaanen held on for second, LeMieux took sole possession of the point lead by placing third, Randy LeMieux Jr. was fourth and Cody Rass raced home to fifth after starting in row 7.

With a $700 payday on the line for the IMCA Modified feature winner, we saw former champion Jeremy Jacobs roll in the back gate and take charge when the green dropped. Jacobs paced the field with James Tebon chasing. Midway through the contest Jacobs showed why he’s one of the areas best as he started to stretch out the lead, pulling away from the likes of Tebon, Sean Jerovetz, Tyler Hackett and Todd Dart. Jacobs had the $700 already in his pocket but with 3 laps remaining his car went up in a plume of smoke as his racer came to halt a in turn one. This handed the lead to Tebon who went on the score the win, his first of the season. Hackett took home $400 for second, Jerovetz got $300 for third and point leader Dart placed fourth and earned $225. Dart leads Tebon by 6 points.

Billy LeMieux was on a mission in the IMCA Stock Car main as he set sail from his pole position. Jamie Suchocki and Scott Reinhardt scrapped for second. Midway through the race title contender Charlie Kroll had problems as he came to a stop on the backstretch, bringing out the caution as he headed to pit lane. On the restart point leader Dave Bouche was able to show his veteran prowess charging from outside the top five to third. Bouche then went to work passing Tom Brumlic for second. Bouche was never able to mount a challenge for the win as LeMieux cruised to his second feature win in the class. Bouche extended his point lead placing second, Suchocki was third, Dylan Heilmann held off Shawn Havel for fourth.

In Street Stock action Billy LeMieux raced around Mike Sargent for the lead and never looked back scoring his 5th feature win of the season. Geno Sternard was second, Jeremy Dubois, Jimmy Anderson and Sargent completed the top five. With the win LeMieux is back in the point lead as Kevin Luedtke suffered mechanical issues.

Travis Lumaye and Scott Boulanger had their time up front in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature but midway through the contest Derek Moede marched past for the lead and scored his second win of the season. Boulanger had to settle for second, Marcus Moede was third, CJ Weckler and Dave Schmidt rounded out the top five finishers.

Next Saturday July 19 will be brought to you by the GO BO! Foundation and will feature a drivers bike race and giveaway.


20 LAP KELSEY RACING IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1 James Tebon, Algoma.; 2. Tyler Hackett, Algoma; 3. Sean Jerovetz, Sobieski; 4. Todd Dart, Algoma

HEAT 1: Hackett; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg

20 LAP OLSON FABRICATION IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1 Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay.; 2. Dave Bouche, Algoma; 3. Jamie Suchocki, Forestville; 4. Dylan Heilmann, Green Bay; 5. Shawn Havel, Algoma

HEAT 1: Havel; Heilmann
HEAT 2: LeMieux; Charlie Kroll, Forestville

20 LAP LAVINE’S ICE IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1.Scott Boulanger, Duvall; 2. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; 3. Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; 5. Cody Rass, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Josh Massart, Forestville; VanLaanen
HEAT 2: Rick LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Chris Budzban, Luxemburg

15 LAP LACKIE RENTALS IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1. Derek Moede, Luxemburg; 2. Scott Boulanger, Duvall; 3. Marcus Moede, Algoma; 4. CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Dave Schmidt, Casco

HEAT 1: Marcus Moede; Jeremy Jauquet, Green Bay
HEAT 2: Boulanger; Derek Moede

15 LAP REESE’S AUTOBODY STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Geno Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Jeremy Dubois, Algoma; 4. Jimmy Anderson, Forestville; 5. Mike Sargent, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: LeMieux; Dubois

Previous Post: Extra pay for top 5 finishers in the IMCA Modifieds plus $700 to win Saturday July 12 at Thunderhill



Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 16, 2015 Race Results- The IMCA Sport Mod title is up for grabs as point leader Chris Budzban falters, while Jarred VanLaanen races into title chase with victory at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Tom Brumlic (IMCA Stock Car), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Next Sunday August 23 will be brought to you by Coors Light. Championship night is right around the corner on August 30….


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…