Photos by Dan Lewis Photography – www.danlewisphoto.net

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) May 17, 2014 Results- Track conditions could not have been any better for the first night of the season, as drivers raced 2 and 3 wide all while battling for the win on opening night. Hardcore fans braved the cold and were warmed by hot action on the track.

Bret Koehler fought off Shawn Havel late in the contest to score his first trophy of the season in the IMCA Stock Cars at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Troy Jerovetz (IMCA Modified), Randy LeMieux Jr. (IMCA Sport Mod), Jeremy Jauquet (IMCA Hobby Stock) and Billy LeMieux (Street Stock).

Bret Koehler received the best of luck drawing the pole position for the IMCA Stock Car main. Koehler got the jump over Jamie Suchocki and began to pull away early with Dylan Heilman and Tom Brumlic giving chase. Brumlic found the high groove and began chopping away at Koehler’s lead. Brumlic then pulled along side Koehler and took the lead away with 8 laps remaining. Koehler fought back down low regaining the top spot 2 laps later. A caution flew for Billy LeMieux after he caught an infield tire that ripped the front wheel off his machine which ended his night. Shawn Havel used the 3 lap dash to checker to his advantage taking second away from Brumlic. Havel charged to the back bumper of Koehler but it wasn’t enough and Koehler collected the win. Havel was second, followed by Brumlic, defending champion Dave Bouche and Dylan Heilman was fifth.

In IMCA Modified action, defending champion James Lee Tebon and Troy Jerovetz drew the front row for the feature. When the green dropped the duo went door to door lap after lap for the lead. Jerovetz running up top and Tebon down low. Jerovetz was able to inch away from Tebon and ultimately set sale en route to his first ever feature win at Thunderhill Raceway. Felix Dart made a late race pass to place second, Tebon was third, Tyler Hackett and Sean Jerovetz completed the top five. This was also the first feature win for Jerovetz in his new Rage Chassis.

In one of the best races of the night Derek Moede and Jeremy Jauquet thrilled fans by exchanging the lead 5 times throughout the 15 lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature. The duo threw caution to the wind and began bumping and grinding in every corner. Back and forth the battle went for the top spot. With 2 laps remaining Jauquet was able to grab the lead for good and picked up his first ever Hobby Stock trophy. Derek had to settle for second, brother Marcus Moede was third, defending champion Scott Boulanger was fourth and CJ Weckler completed the top five.

Randy LeMieux Jr. picked up the win in the IMCA Sport Mods by leading all 15 laps. Randy held off several challenges from Ryan LeMieux and Jarred VanLaanen. Defending champ Bernie Reinhardt suffered mechanical issues while running in the top 5. In the day and age of new racing chassis, Randy bested the field with a 2005 Pro Chassis. Following Randy at the line was Ryan LeMieux, VanLaanen, Chris Budzban who battled from row five and Rick LeMieux.

Billy LeMieux picked up right where he left off last season, leading every lap of the Street Stock feature en route to the win. Von Eytcheson held off Aaron Thornton for second, Joey Scoon was fourth and Geno rallied to fifth.


18 LAP KELSEY RACING IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; 2. Felix Dart, Algoma; 3. James Tebon, Algoma; 4. Tyler Hackett, Algoma; 5. Sean Jerovetz, Sobieski

HEAT 1: Sean Jerovetz; Tebon

18 LAP OLSON FABRICATION IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Bret Koehler, Two Creeks; 2. Shawn Havel, Algoma; 3. Tom Brumlic, Denmark; 4. Dave Bouche, Algoma; 5. Dylan Heilman, Green Bay
HEAT 1: Heilman; Koehler
HEAT 2: Brumlic; Havel

15 LAP LAVINE’S ICE IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; 2. Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; 4. Chris Budzban, Luxemburg; 5. Rick LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: VanLaanen; Josh Massart, Forestville
HEAT 2: Ryan LeMieux; Budzban

15 LAP LACKIE RENTALS IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1. Jeremy Jauquet, Green Bay; 2. Derek Moede, Casco; 3. Marcus Moede, Algoma; 4. Scott Boulanger, DuVall; 5. CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Boulanger; Marcus Moede
HEAT 2: Jauquet; Derek Moede

15 LAP REESE’S AUTOBODY STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Von Eytcheson, Forestville; 3. Aaron Thornton, Maplewood; 4. Joey Scoon, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Geno Sternard, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Kevin Luedtke, Sturgeon Bay; Scoon
HEAT 2: LeMieux; Eytcheson