Photos by Dan Lewis Photography – www.danlewisphoto.net

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 14, 2014 Results- Algoma’s “Felix” Todd Dart reigned supreme with his 3rd IMCA Modified feature win of the season at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Billy LeMieux (IMCA Stock Car), Cody Rass (IMCA Sport Mod), Derek Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) and Von Eytcheson (Street Stock).

One of Thunderhill’s most decorated racers added another milestone to his storied career. Early in the IMCA Modified main it was Tyler Hackett pacing the field from his front row starting spot. Hackett battled mechanical gremlins the first month of the season and traced the problem to a crushed float in the carburetor. Now running up to snuff he worked the low groove with Todd Dart and James Tebon giving chase. Dart enjoyed the virtue of another great racing surface has he hammered the cushion reeling in and passing Hackett before the midway point.

Tebon off a strong second place run at Luxemburg Friday night worked to the runner up spot but was never able to challenge. Dart cruised to his 50th IMCA Modified victory at Thunderhill in front of a roaring crowd. Dart now sits tied with Charlie Kroll for most all time wins. Tebon was second, followed by Hackett, Greg Gretz and Chuck Carmin.

Veteran driver Tony Bouche led the opening laps of the IMCA Stock Car headliner. His lead was wiped away on lap 3 as last weeks winner, Billy LeMieux raced around the outside of Tony and to the lead. LeMieux then stretched the lead to a straightaway advantage. Tony’s Nephew Dave Bouche, raced 3-wide to third and set his sits on Uncle Tony for the runner up spot. A caution on lap 17 saw Shawn Havel head into the pits with a motor failure. On the restart LeMieux was able to hold the competition at bay while wheeling away to his second Stock Car main in a row. Dave Bouche held on for second, capping off a good weekend after winning Friday night. Dylan Heilmann once again rallied late with a solid third, Tony Bouche had his best run of the season placing fourth and Charlie Kroll took over the point lead with a fifth place run.

Kroll sits 1 point ahead of Havel and Dave Bouche sits 2 markers out of the lead.

For the second week in a row Cody Rass took top honors in the IMCA Sport Mods. Rass led from the drop of the green and was never challenged in the caution free 20 lap main. Jarred VanLaanen placed second after a race long battle with Josh Massart. Massart settled in to finish third, Chris Budzban and Ryan LeMieux completed the top five. Budzban has sole possession of first place in the point standings with a 1 point advantage over Ryan.

In Street Stock action it was Von Eytcheson besting the field with his first win of the season. Point leader Billy LeMieux had his engine go up in a plume of smoke while battling for second midway through the contest. Due to the “dnf” by LeMieux the bounty remains and will go into week 6. Trailing Eytcheson at the checkers was Jeremy Dubois, Geno Sternard, Mike Sargent and Corey Sampone.

Derek Moede passed brother Marcus Moede for the lead on lap 6 of the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Derek then withstood a solid challenge by Scott Boulanger to earn his first win of the season. Point leader Jeremy Jauquet rallied late to place second, Dave Schmidt soldiered home third with an ill running machine, Marcus was fourth and Scott Boulanger faded late to place fifth. The win was the first in 2 seasons for Derek. Jauquet leads Derek by 1 point heading next week.

Next Saturday, June 21 will be the 2nd Annual Terry Simon Memorial.


20 LAP KELSEY RACING IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Todd Dart, Algoma; 2. James Tebon, Algoma; 3. Tyler Hackett, Algoma; 4. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; 5. Chuck Carmin, Gladstone, MI

HEAT 1: Gretz; Hackett

20 LAP OLSON FABRICATION IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Dave Bouche, Algoma; 3. Dylan Heilmann, Green Bay; 4. Tony Bouche, Algoma; 5. Charlie Kroll, Forestville

HEAT 1: LeMieux; Kroll
HEAT 2: Shawn Havel, Algoma; Tony Bouche

20 LAP LAVINE’S ICE IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Cody Rass, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; 3. Josh Massart, Forestville; 4. Chris Budzban, Luxemburg; 5. Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Budzban
HEAT 2: Rass; LeMieux

15 LAP LACKIE RENTALS IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1. Derek Moede, Casco; 2. Jeremy Jauquet, Green Bay; 3. Dave Schmidt, Casco; 4. Marcus Moede, Algoma; 5. Scott Boulanger, Duvall

HEAT 1: Jauquet; Marcus Moede
HEAT 2: Boulanger; Derek Moede

15 LAP REESE’S AUTOBODY STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Von Eytcheson, Forestville; 2. Jeremy Dubois, Algoma; 3. Geno Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Mike Sargent, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Corey Sampone, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Eytcheson; Sargent
HEAT 2: Dubois; Kevin Luedtke, Sturgeon Bay