Posted under Race Reports on May 19th, 2013

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) May 18, 2013 Results- Former Thunderhill Raceway champion Jared Siefert used a green white checker restart to slide by defending champ James Tebon taking the win in the IMCA Modifieds. The win netted the former IMCA Modified National champ $800. Other feature winners were Shawn Havel (IMCA Stock Car), Jarred VanLaanen (IMCA Sport Mod), Scott Boulanger (IMCA Hobby Stock) and Von Eytcheson (Street Stock) Cory Cochart earned the N.E.W. Racing Supplies Hard Charger award in the IMCA Modifieds.

Next Saturday May 25 will be the 5th Annual Nathan Bouche Memorial featuring driver introductions for the IMCA Stock Cars.

Tebon and Siefert quickly sped to first and second with Tebon leading the way. Billy LeMieux was shuffled out of his front row starting spot but came storming back literally driving the car like he stole it. LeMieux pounded the cushion working to the outside of Siefert. Tebon stayed smooth working the low groove leaving the battle behind him. A series of cautions brought the field tight to Tebon’s bumper. LeMieux’s machine began to show smoke when another yellow flag flew forcing him to the pits with mechanical issues. Rookie Brad Lautenbach became a player on lap 10 running the top side eventually passing Siefert for second. Lautenbach then set his sights on Tebon pulling to the outside quarter panel of the leader when the caution flew. This put Lautenbach inside and Siefert outside for the green white checker finish. That was the break Siefert needed as he slipped passed Tebon taking the win in thrilling fashion. Tebon second, Lautenbach a strong third, Cory Cochart started in row five to finish fourth and Eugene Gregorich Sr. rounded out the top five.

Shawn Havel scored a clean sweep in the IMCA Stock Cars.

Havel and defending champion Dave Bouche quickly distanced themselves from the pack. Bouche kept the lead as Havel began to search for a line to catch the leader. With 7 laps remaining Havel found the momentum in the high groove working passed Bouche as they raced door to door. Havel’s racer was hooked up and hauling the mail which brought him all the way to the NAPA Auto Parts victory lane. Bouche held of a closing Brett Koehler for second, Tom Brumlic and John Anschutz capped off strong runs finishing in the top five. The race went caution free.

Jarred VanLaanen led every lap en route to victory in the IMCA Sport Mods.

VanLaanen used his front row starting spot to take an early lead but several cautions kept Kelsy Hayes and Martin Kelsey on the back bumper of the leader. Hayes secured the second spot and set her sights on VanLaanen closing in midway through the contest. With a handful of laps remaining the caution again waved allowing Ryan LeMieux to challenge the leader. VanLaanen nailed a perfect restart and beat LeMieux back to the checkers by car length. Hayes held on for third, Randy LeMieux Jr. fourth and Dennis Miesler brought home a solid fifth.

Scott Boulanger passed Ryan Rohr en route to victory in his John Soukup themed IMCA Hobby.

Rohr set the pace early leading the first five circuits before Boulanger blasted to the outside groove taking the lead. Derek Moede followed suit taking over second. With 5 laps remaining CJ Weckler broke an axle sending his car into a barrel roll out of turn 2. Dave Schmidt hit the debris field from Weckler‘s crashing machine, sending his race car into the backstretch wall. Both drivers emerged unscathed under the red flag but their night was over. Boulanger led the rest of the way taking home the win, Moede second, Travis Hackett was third, Rookie Dan VanPay placed an impressive fourth and Rohr rounded out the top five finishers.

Von Eytcheson went to victory lane scoring a clean sweep in the Street Stocks.

Jimmy Anderson and Kevin Luedtke paced the first handful of laps before Eytcheson quickly worked from row 3 and to the lead. John Sternard worked to the back bumper of Eytcheson with 2 laps remaining but it was to little to late as Eytcheson took the win, Sternard had to settle for second, Luedtke third, Keith Kickbusch and Todd Wagner made their return to racing both finishing in the top five.

Five divisions do battle every Saturday night through the summer. IMCA Modified, IMCA Stock Car, IMCA Northern Sport Mod, IMCA Hobby Stock and Street Stocks will compete on the 1/3rd mile clay oval.
For more information, please visit the track’s website at Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side. Pit gates open at 3:30 P.M. racing starts at 6:00 P.M. For your social media outlet like Thunderhill Raceway on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.


KELSEY RACING IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg; 2. James Tebon, Algoma; 3.Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; 4. Cory Cochart, Casco; 5. Eugene Gregorich Sr., Kewaunee

HEAT 1: Tebon; Nick Mahlik, Green Bay
HEAT 2: Siefert; Lautenbach

BULL PEN BAR & GRILL IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Shawn Havel, Algoma; 2.Dave Bouche, Algoma; 3. Bret Koehler, Two Rivers; 4. Tom Brumlic, Denmark; 5. John Anschutz, Brussels

HEAT 1: Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay; D. Bouche
HEAT 2: John Anschutz; Dan Sell, Suring
HEAT 3: Havel; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee

LAVINE’S ICE IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; 2. Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Kelsy Hayes, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; 5. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

HEAT 1: Randy LeMieux Jr.; Josh Massart, Brussels
HEAT 2: Hayes; Ryan LeMieux

LACKIE RENTALS IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; 2. Derek Moede, Casco; 3. Travis Hackett, Algoma; 4. Dan VanPay, Denmark; 5. Ryan Rohr, Casco

HEAT 1: Moede; Rohr
HEAT 2: Sawyer Haese, New Franken; CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay

SHOWCASE KITCHENS STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Von Eytcheson, Forestville; 2. John Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 3.Kevin Luedtke, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee; 5. Todd Wagner, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Eytcheson; Luedtke
HEAT 2: Kickbusch; Bill Krueger, Sturgeon Bay




Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 16, 2015 Race Results- The IMCA Sport Mod title is up for grabs as point leader Chris Budzban falters, while Jarred VanLaanen races into title chase with victory at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Tom Brumlic (IMCA Stock Car), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Next Sunday August 23 will be brought to you by Coors Light. Championship night is right around the corner on August 30….


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…