Next Event » August 9 Regular Program Sponsored by S&B Trailers & Terry Simon Memorial Fund (Trailer Races) @ 5:30pm


Posted under Race Reports on June 12th, 2011


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 6/11/2011) – Evan Madden took command early, sprinting away to his first IMCA Modified feature win of the year Saturday night at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway in Sturgeon Bay.

Joining Madden in victory lane were Luke Lemmens in the IMCA Stock Cars, Eric Arneson in the IMCA Northern Sport Mods, Dave Baenen in the Street Stocks, Marcus Moede in the IMCA Hobby Stocks and Calvin Stueck in the 4 cylinder class.

In the Modified headliner, Madden took full advantage of his front row starting spot to grab the lead from Chris Derenne at the initial drop of the green. With Derenne holding the line in second, Madden steadily increased his advantage, pulling away to an insurmountable lead.

While Madden raced away uncontested at the point, Derenne was forced to fend off repeated attacks from Dan Ratajczak to hold the runner-up spot, with Jay Matthias, James Tebon and Shawn Kilgore stacked up behind in a tight pack.. Ratajczak was able nose inside several times, but Derenne carried the momentum and held the spot to the checker.

At the line, Madden claimed his first feature of the season by nearly half a lap, with Derenne winning the race-long battle with Ratajczak for second.

After wrestling the lead away from Dave DeGrave on the 14th lap, Lemmens was able to stave off a late efforts from Troy Muench to win for the second week in a row in the rugged IMCA Stock Cars.

A late incident that collected point leader Shawn Havel, Bret Koehler and Don Aregoni, set the stage for a four lap shoot-out to the finish. Lemmens had the lead, with veterans Muench, Charlie Kroll, Greg Gretz and Dave Bouche lined up in the two rows behind him for the restart.

Muench secured second, pulling even with Lemmens multiple times, but the rookie was able to hold his line en route to the win.

In a memorable IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature, Arneson used a late restart to jump from third to first, setting up his second win of the year.

Prior to the move, James Iverson was in position to upset the field and score his first career feature win. Iverson had been fast all night, and looked to be in control until Jason LaViolette’s blown engine forced caution, setting the stage for the final dash.

Behind him, Arneson, Brad Lautenbach, Bernie Reinhardt, Tom Stark and Jarred VanLaanen had been dicing for position lap after lap. The late restart positioned Reinhardt on the inside and Arneson on the outside of the second row.

The starting spot allowed Arneson to gain the outside edge as he powered around Iverson to the win.

In the Street Stocks, Baenen out-dueled Kipp Burlo for the lead on the 11th lap, then withstood a late caution as he drove away to his first career feature win. Les Sternard recorded his best finish since returning to the sport, a solid second, in front of Dennis Weidner and Tony Everard.

A late caution didn’t derail Moede as he notched his first IMCA Hobby Stock feature win of the season.

He took the lead from Eric Micolichek on the second lap, leading the rest of the way. A tight battle for second was eventually decided by Peterson who took the spot late in the contest.

Stueck became the Raceway’s first three-time winner on the season, passing Charlie Gross on the fourth lap in the 4 cylinder feature. Charlie held off son Kasey at the line for second.

Originally scheduled for July 16th, Saturday will be “Topless Modified” night at the Hill. The unique event will feature the IMCA Modified class running without roofs, sponsored by Little Hoppers of Sturgeon Bay. The Stock Cars, Sport Mods, Street Stocks, Hobbies and 4 cylinders will also be on hand, as well as another match-up of Spectator Eliminator action.

Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side, with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer at 6:00 PM. For more information, visit the track’s website at

Thunderhill Raceway Results 6/11/11

IMCA Modified 20 Lap Feature – Evan Madden, Algoma: Chris Derenne, Luxemburg: Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station: Jay Matthias, Depere: James Tebon, Algoma: Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

Heat 1 – Tebon: Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
Heat 2 – Ratajczak: Derenne

IMCA Stock Car 20 Lap Feature – Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee: Troy Muench, Namur: Greg Gretz, Kewaunee: Ben Kroll, New Franken: Charlie Kroll, Forestville: Dave Bouche, Algoma

Heat 1 – Shane Havel, Algoma: Todd Polster, Sturgeon Bay
Heat 2 – Lemmens: Muench
Heat 3 – John Anschutz, Brussels: Gretz

IMCA Northern Sport Mod 20 Lap Feature – Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls: James Iverson, Luxemburg: Brad Lautenbach, New Franken: Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay: Randy LeMieux, Jr, Sturgeon Bay: Tyler Hackett, Algoma

Heat 1 – Iverson: Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay
Heat 2 – Lautenbach: Steve Georgenson, Sturgeon Bay

Street Stock 15 Lap Feature – Dave Baenen, New Franken: Les Sternard, Sturgeon Bay: Dennis Weidner, East Maplewood: Tony Everard, Green Bay: Brian Weslow, Coleman: Jimmy Anderson, Forestville

Heat 1 – Everard: Ed Anschutz, Kewaunee
Heat 2 – Baenen: Weidner

IMCA Hobby Stock 15 Lap Feature – Marcus Moede, Algoma: Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay: C.J. Weckler, Sturgeon Bay: Tom Brumlic, Denmark: Travis Hackett, Algoma: Amber Weidner, East Maplewood

Heat 1 – Dave Schmidt, Algoma: Peterson
Heat 2 – Moede: Brumlic

4 Cylinder Feature – Calvin Stueck, Clintonville: Charlie Gross, Gleason: Kasey Gross, Gleason: Steve Skippon, Sturgeon Bay: Matt Borths, Sturgeon Bay: Nick LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay

Heat – Kasey Gross: Stueck

Spectator Eliminator – Darrell Farley, Algoma

Previous Post: 20 Questions with Geno Sternard


Lemieux Doubles Up at Thunderhill

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Sturgeon Bay, WI)- Billy Lemieux was a star studded Man in Door County over the weekend. Not only did he rank in 135th place out of 160 players at the M.A.C Softball tournament; He decided to double up on Feature wins at Thunderhill Raceway on Sunday night. Lemieux earned wins in both the IMCA Stockcar Feature and Street Stock Feature.

Other winners included: Tyler Hackett(IMCA Modifieds) Jarred VanLaanen(IMCA Sportmods) Dave Schmidt(IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Nathan Delsart(Thunder Trucks)

David Reinhardt opened up as the King of…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) July 19, 2015 Results- After a 3-wide battle Jamie Suchocki took home his second feature win in as many weeks at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Jacob Zellner (IMCA Sport Mod), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck). For video of the nightly races check out Pain Racing on Facebook or YouTube. For photos check out

Next Sunday, July 26 Door Counties favorite son, Greg Aregoni will be announcing the action. Night twelve will be brought to you by Woody’s Signs of…


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) July 12, 2015 Results- Jamie Suchocki out lasted Jeremy Anschutz to score his first IMCA Stock Car feature of the season at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Josh Lambert (IMCA Sport Mod), Marcus Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) & James Dahlstrom (Street Stock)

The drivers bike race and give-away will take place next Sunday at Thunderhill Raceway and be brought to you by Bissen Asphalt and Sturgeon Bay Sand & Gravel. Racing starts at 5:30pm

Rookie Kevin Luedtke…