Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (www.danlewisphoto.net)

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 4- Luke Lemmens would lead every lap of the IMCA Stock Car feature, taking home the top prize at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Dan Ratajczak (modified) Brad Lautenbach (sport mod), Tom Brumlic (hobby stock), Aaron Thornton (street stock) and Calvin Stueck (four-cylinders).

Dan Ratajczak took the lead on lap 2 and never looked back winning the Kelsey Racing IMCA Modified feature, his first of the season at Thunderhill.

Veteran Chris Derenne lead the opening circuit before Dan Ratajczak would work down low and take the top spot. Ratajczak would pull away leaving the battle for the second spot. Billy LeMieux and James Tebon would tangle battling while running for the runner up position. This would allow former track champion Shawn Kilgore to work the outside and move to second. Kilgore would pull away from the pack but was never able to challenge Ratajczak who would win the caution free event, Kilgore would take the points lead finishing second with defending champion Jay Matthias third, James Tebon and last weeks feature winner Todd Dart rounded out the top five.

Rookie Luke Lemmens would lead every lap winning his first career Algoma Motors IMCA Stock Car Feature.

The Stock Car drivers were treated to driver introductions to start their feature. Front row starter Luke Lemmens wouldn’t waste any time when the green dropped building a big lead early. Jeremy Wiitala would do battle with defending champion Greg Gretz late in the running. Gretz would have to settle for second as Lemmens was long gone by the time he got around Wiitala in the caution free feature. Wiitala would place third with new points Shawn Havel fourth and fifth for Bret Koehler who start 18th.

Brad Lautenbach padded his point lead winning the feature in the Butch’s Auto IMCA Sport Mod feature.

Bernie Reinhardt would set the early paces in the Sport Mod main event. A series of cautions would keep the field bunched as Brad Lautenbach quickly worked through the field from outside row five. Lautenbach would take the lead away from Reinhardt on lap 5. Dennis Miesler would work to second and begin to run down Lautenbach. Miesler would get to the back bumper but could never complete the pass. Lautenbach would take home the top spot with Miesler setting for second place money, Steve Georgenson third with Tyler Hackett and Kelsy Hayes rounding out the top five after going down pit lane early in the contest.

Tom Brumlic would complete yet another dominating performance winning the Coors Light IMCA Hobby Stock main event.

Four drivers came into the night tied for the points lead in the Hobby Stock feature. Mitch Vandermause would jump from his fourth starting spot to lead the opening 2 laps. Wisconsin State points leader Tom Brumlic would make a quick charge to the front taking the lead from Vandermause and go on to win his third feature in as many nights of racing. With the win Brumlic would take soul possession of the points lead. Travis Hackett would place a solid second, C.J. Weckler would battle and place third with Marcus Moede fourth and Brandon Peterson fifth after going down pit lane early in the feature.

Former Lackie Rentals and Remodeling champion Aaron Thornton came home the winner in a caution plagued Street Stock feature.

Second year Street Stock driver Kipp Burlo would use his pole position to take the top spot early. Aaron Thornton would battle quickly to the second spot. On lap 2 Thornton and Burlo would make contact sending Burlo spinning out of turn four. Caution would fly and track officials would give Burlo back the lead and send Thornton to the tail of the field. Burlo would lead till a flat tire would side line his machine handing the lead over to Brian Weslow. Thornton would battle from the back moving back into the top four midway through the event. Thornton would take the lead on lap 11 and capture the checker. With the win Thornton would score a clean sweep after winning his heat race earlier in the evening. Weslow would come home second, Tony Everard third, Geno Sternard would battle back to fourth after an early wreck sent him to the tail of the field and Ed Franklin would round out the top five.

Calvin Stueck would lead every lap picking his second feature win at Thunderhill in the Denil Auto and Trucking Feisty Fours.

For the second week in a row Theodore Everard would win the Woody Signs Spectator Eliminator.

Next week, June 11 will feature a drivers bicycle race at intermission brought to you by Jim Olson Motors.

Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer at 6:00 PM. For more information, visit the track’s website at www.racethunderhill.com You can also follow Thunderhill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter


20 Lap IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1.Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station ; 2.Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee ; 3.Jay Matthias, DePere ; 4.James Tebon, Algoma; 5.Todd Dart, Algoma

HEAT 1: Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Dart
HEAT 2: Tebon; Kilgore

20 Lap IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1.Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; 2.Greg Gretz, Kewaunee ; 3.Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay ; 4. Shawn Havel, Algoma ; 5.Bret Koehler, Two Rivers

HEAT 1: Jeremy Jauquet, Green Bay; Lemmens
HEAT 2: Gretz; Todd Polster, West Jacksonport

20 Lap IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1.Brad Lautenbach, New Franken ; 2.Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg ; 3.Steve Georgenson ; 4.Tyler Hackett, Algoma ; 5.Kelsy Hayes, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Miesler
HEAT 2: Jarred Vanlaanen, Green Bay; Hackett

15 Lap IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1.Tom Brumlic, Denmark ; 2.Travis Hackett, Algoma ; 3.C.J. Weckler, Sturgeon Bay ; 4.Marcus Moede, Algoma ; 5.Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Brumlic; Moede
HEAT 2: Hackett; Ryan Rohr, Casco

15 Lap STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1.Aaron Thornton, Maplewood ; 2.Brian Weslow, Green Bay ; 3.Tony Everard, Green Bay ; 4.Geno Sternard, Sturgeon Bay ; 5.Ed Franklin, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Dennis Weidner, Sturgeon Bay; Jeremy Dubois, Algoma
HEAT 2: Thornton; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay

15 Lap 4 CYLINDER FEATURE: 1.Calvin Stueck, Clintonville ; 2.Kasey Gross, Gleason ; 3.Joey Scoon, Sturgeon Bay ; 4.Charlie Gross, Gleason ; 5.Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls

HEAT 1: Stueck; Johnson