Next Event » April 19 - OPEN PRACTICE 1pm-4pm

Tebon Dominates To Earn First Victory of Season

Posted under Race Reports on July 4th, 2010

Tebon Dominates To Earn First Victory of Season

By Greg Aregoni

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) July, 3rd- James Lee Tebon used the inside lane for all 20 laps and cruised to his first win of the season at the Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway. Charlie Kroll picked up the win in the IMCA Stockcars after a race long duel with Greg Gretz. Other winners on the night were Adam Pallex in the IMCA Hobby Stocks, Jeff Vlies in the IMCA Northern Sportmods, Eddie Anschutz in the N.E.W. Super Stocks, and Brian Johnson in the 4 Cylinders

Nick Grovogel led the opening three circuits of the N.E.W. Super Stock feature before a cut tire would end his night. Dave Baenen powered by and looked to have the race in control until a caution for conor Iverson brought out the caution on lap 9. Eddie Anschutz and Josh Novak used the caution to there advantage and cleared their racers when racing resumed. Baenen would suffer mechanical issues ending his night. With everyone behind him Anschutz led the final 6 circuits to pick up his 2nd win of the season. Novak was second followed by point leader Andy Paluch, Tony Everard, and James Bosman.

Chris Benes led the opening lap of the IMCA Northern Sportmod feature until Jeff vlies rocketed by down low. Cochart was trailed by Ryan Lemieux by 3 car lengths until a caution for Shawn Lemieux waved on lap 9. On the restart, Lemieux used the topside of the track to gain advantage for one lap. Vlies was able to regain the lead and won the feature but not without heavy pressure from Lemieux who had to settle for second. Steve Jorgenson who started 17th finished 3rd. Jesse Kroll who started 16th finished 4th, followed by Eric Arneson in fifth.

Dave DeGrave used his outside front row starting spot to claim the lead early in the IMCA Stockcar feature. DeGrave would continue to lead until Kyle Wanner tangled with Scott Reinhardt. Wanner was called for the caution and sent to the back with Reinhardt suffering a bent spindle. When racing resumed, Charlie Kroll and Greg Gretz powered by DeGrave to grab the top two spots. A game of cat and mouse was played between the two but Kroll was able to win by a couple car lengths. Point leader Gretz finished second. Ben Kroll finished 3rd in his first run at Thunderhill. John Heinz finished fourth with DeGrave fifth. After the race, Kyle Wanner claimed the motor of Charlie Kroll. Claim was accepted and they swapped motors.

Evan Madden led the opening five laps of the IMCA Modified feature before James Lee Tebon shot passed inside and never looked back. Dan Rataczjak would get to second and try on the topside of the track to get around Tebon but to no avail. Tebon would pull away in the waning laps to pick up his first win of the season. Rataczjak would take home second place money. Shawn Kilgore was third followed by Jay Mathias and Madden.

Despite heavy pressure all race long, Adam Pallex never left the bottom of the track and was able to pick up the victory in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Frank Paul finished second. Rob Waechter Jr. settled for third followed by Brandon Peterson, and Luke Lemmens.

Brian Johnson scored a clean sweep in the Feisty 4 Cylinder class. Jeremy Dubois was second and Matt Sargent third.

Next Saturday Night will be Lakeside Painting and Sherman Williams Night with the Feisty 4 Cylinders being introduced.

Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer at 6:00 PM. For more information, visit the track’s website at You can also follow ThunderHill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. James Lee Tebon, Algoma 2. Dan Rataczjak, Frog Station 3. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 4. Jay Matthias, DePere 5. Evan Madden, Algoma

Heats #1 1. Tebon 2. Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers
#2 1. Billy Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay 2. Rataczjak
#3 1. Chris Derenne, Luxemburg 2. Madden

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Charlie Kroll, Forestville 2. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee 3. Ben Kroll, New Franken 4. John Heinz, Green Bay 5. Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg

Consy -1. Jeremy Wiitala

Heats- #1 1. Kroll 2. Kyle Wanner, Suamico
#2. 1. John Anschutz, Brussels 2. Scott Reinhardt, Bailey’s harbor
#3 1. DeGrave 2. Shawn Havel, Algoma

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Adam Pallex, Algoma 2. Frank Paul, Kewaunee 3. Rob Waechter Jr, Ellisville 4. Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay 5. Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee

Heats- #1 1. Waechter 2. Peterson
#2 1. Lemmens 2. Derek Moede, Luxemburg

IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- 1. Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee 2. Ryan Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay 3.Steve Jorgenson, Sturgeon Bay 4. Jesse Kroll, Algoma 5. Eric Arneson, Coleman

Heats- #1 1. Vlies 2. Tom Stark, Egg Harbor
#2 1. Tyler Hackett, Algoma 2. Bernard Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay

N.E.W. Super Stock Feature- 1Edwaurdo Anschutz, Bucktown, Iowa2. Josh Novak, Appleton 3. Andy Paluch, Pulaski 4. Tony Everard, Green Bay 5. James Bosman, Sturgeon Bay

Heats #1 1. Brian Weslow, Green Bay 2. Novak
#2 1. Everard 2. Dave Baenen, New Franken

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 2. Jeremy Dubois, Algoma 3. Matt Sargent, Sturgeon Bay 4. Heather Goldman, Sturgeon Bay 5. Marc Clark, Sturgeon Bay

Heat- 1. Johnson 2. Dubois



Practice called off at Thunderhill Raceway for Sunday April 12

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) April 11, 2015 Press Release- The tentative practice for Sunday April 12 at Thunderhill Raceway has been called off due to the track being to wet.

The next practice is set for April 18. The first points night is on April 25.

Six divisions do battle every Saturday night through the summer. IMCA Modified, IMCA Stock Car, IMCA Northern Sport Mod, IMCA Hobby Stock Street Stock and Thunder Trucks will compete on the 1/3rd mile bullring. For more information, please visit the track’s website at Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) April 10, 2015 Press Release- Thunderhill Raceway has scheduled a tentative practice for this Sunday, April 12. Starting at 1pm till 4pm. We understand it’s short notice but if we’re able to prep the track in time, we’d like to get drivers on it soon as possible. Right now it’s wet but with promising weather this weekend we’re crossing our fingers it’s ready for Sunday. We’ll keep everyone updated on the status of the practice via the tracks website, Facebook and Twitter. Pit entrance will be $15 per driver, $10 for crew. Gates open…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) April 10, 2015 Press Release- Algoma’s Evan Madden will have his 2015 Wolfe Racing Chassis IMCA Stock Car on display for the Monster Truck show at the Resch Center this weekend. Madden’s Crew Chief Brenan Parkos, who is a professional quad racer was approached by Monster Jam promoters in search of what Wisconsin fans are into. The answer was easy for Parkos, “Dirt track racing!”

Madden will have his black and green racing machine on display for the three Monster Jam shows on April 11-12. He is rumored to have a few hot laps in…