(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 5 – Kevin Sternard led every lap in a caution free feature, picking the top prize of $800 in the IMCA Modifieds at ThunderHill Raceway. Other winners were (MSA Sprint Cars) TJ Luedke, (IMCA Sport Mod) Johnny Whitman.
Kevin Sternard out duel former track champion Jeremy Jacobs on the opening lap and slowly began to pull away leaving the competition battling behind him. The top four would break away from the pack, with Kyle Kudick holding down the second spot. The battle for third would heat up as the defending champion Shawn Kilgore and former champ Todd Dart battled door to door. Kilgore would make the pass, and challenge Kudick late in the going for the runner up spot. When the checkers fell it was Sternard winning by a straight away leading all 30 laps. Second for Kyle Kudick, after starting deep in the field third for Shawn Kilgore, fourth Todd Dart, Jared Siefert would round out the top five.
Johnny “The Hitman” Whitman lead all 25 laps in the IMCA Sport Mods taking home a $400 payday.
Johnny Whitman would battle Eric Arneson from his front row starting spot, and take the lead on lap 1. Whitman would quickly distance himself from the field. Brad Lautenbach would march his way through the pack and began battling Arneson for the runner up position. Whitman had the race well in hand, but caution for the broken down machine of Jeff Vlies would bunch the field mid way through the contest. When the race resumed Lautenbach quickly worked into the second spot as Arneson would slide to high losing a handful of positions. Lautenbach would give chase but it was Whitman who would pull away and pick up the win. Second to Brad Lautenbach, third for rookie Tyler Hackett, Ryan LeMieux came home fourth after starting deep in the field and fifth went to Eric Arneson.
Racing resumes this Saturday August 7 with the 2nd Annual Nathan Bouche Memorial.
Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer at 6:00 PM. For more information, visit the track’s website at You can also follow ThunderHill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter


MSA SPRINT CAR FEATURE: 1. TJ Luedke 2. Tony Wondra 3. Kurt Davis 4. Ben Schmidt 5. Jeremy Schultz 6. Randy Call 7. Josh Walters 8. Mark Wernes Jr. 9. Kenjay Fielder 10. Lance Fessbender 11. Brian Portschy 12. Paul Pokorski 13. Earl Possi 14. Jeff Wilke 15. Danny Schlafer 16. Randy Brunette 17. Al Schlafer 18. Brandon McMullen 19. Eliot Kulow 20. Scott Mohs 21. Tim Haddy 22. Shane Wenninger
B MAIN: 1. Possi 2. Portschy 3. Wenninger
HEAT 1: 1. Walters 2. Davis
HEAT 2: 1. Kulow 2. Pokorski
HEAT 3. 1. Schlafer 2. Luedke
IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers; 3. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; 4. Todd Dart, Algoma; 5. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg; 6. Dean Mauer, Green Bay; 7. Mike Wedelstadt, New London; 8. Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; 9. Russ Reinwald, Juneau; 10. Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; 11. Jay Matthias, DePere; 12. Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 13. Tim Czarneski, Denmark; 14. Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; 15. Rick Johnson, Gills Rock; 16. Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; 17. Tony Wedelstadt, New London; 18. Danny Deau, Green Bay
HEAT 1: Jacobs; Dart
HEAT 2: LeMieux; Matthias
IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Johnny Whitman, DePere; 2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; 3. Tyler Hackett, Algoma; 4. Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; 6. Rod Solem, Seymour; 7. Steve Jorgenson, Sturgeon Bay; 8. Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; 9. Tom Stark, Egg Harbor; 10. Jeremy Cota, Oconto Falls; 11. Josh Long, Green Bay; 12. Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; 13. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; 14. Kelsy Hayes, Sturgeon Bay; 15. Jeff Lautenbach, Sturgeon Bay; 16. Stephanie DeJardin, Luxemburg; 17. Keith Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; 18. JJ Anderson, Pulaski; 19. James Iverson, Luxemburg; 20. Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee
B MAIN: Vlies; Stark; J. Lautenbach
HEAT 1: Whitman; R. LeMieux Jr.
HEAT 2: B. Lautenbach; Jorgenson
HEAT 3: Solem; Hackett