Posted under Race Reports on May 30th, 2010


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) May 30 -Kevin Sternard would use the low groove to pass Kyle Kudick on lap 8 and survive a late race charge from Todd Dart to win his first Modified feature of the season at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Troy Muench (stockcar), Jeff Vlies (sport mod), Adam Pallex (hobby Stock), Gene Sternard (street stock) and Mathius Prouty (four-cylinders).

Kyle Kudick would pace the early laps in the IMCA Modified feature, until Kevin Sternard would work his way to the inside of Kudick’s machine. The two would run door to door for several laps before Sternard would finally grab the lead on lap 8. A caution with 6 laps remaining would bunch the field. As the green flew former Champion Todd Dart would set his sights on the leader. Sternard running low and Dart up high, when the white flag flew the two would be side by side, but it was Sternard who would rocket off the final turn and take the win. Dart would settle for second, third for Billy LeMieux, Kudick fourth and Jared Siefert fifth.

Troy Muench would pass Jamie Suchocki in the waning laps to win the IMCA Stockcar feature.

A four car battle ensued for the lead with Jamie Suchocki, Kyle Wanner, Eugene Gregorich and Troy Muench. That’s when Muench would work to the outside of Suchocki and take the lead on lap 13. Gregorich would follow suit and work by Wanner and Suchocki. Gregorich would run right to the back bumper of Muench, but it was to little to late as Muench would pick up the checkers, his first win of the season. Followed by Gregorich, a season best third for Suchocki, fourth for Wanner, and fifth Charlie Kroll.

2008 IMCA Sport Mod Champion Jeff Vlies would do a spin to win, capturing his first feature win of the season.

Action was halted by two early cautions, the second of which resulted in Jeff Lautenbach getting rolled over and Jarred VanLaanen’s machine making hard contact with the front stretch wall. Both drivers would emerge without injury but their racers were done for the night.

When racing resumed it was Jeff Vlies on the point, two time feature winner Brad Lautenbach, began to reel in Vlies. With 6 laps remaining Lautenbach and Vlies would make contact sending Vlies’s racer spinning wildly in front of the entire field, bringing out the caution. Lautenbach would be charged for the contact, forcing him to restart at the tail end of the field. Vlies would be given the lead back and he would fight off a late race charge from last weeks winner Ryan LeMieux. Jesse Kroll, Bernie Reinhardt and point leader Eric Arneson would round out the top five.

In Street Stock action Gene Sternard picked up his first career feature win passing point leader James Bosman on the final lap.

Tim Jadrin would lead the first 5 circuits before rookie Tony Everard take over. Everard would lose control 3 laps later handing the lead to James Bosman who looked to have the race well in hand. But a caution would allow a 3 lap dash to the finish. That’s when Gene Sternard would make the pass for the lead with 1 lap to go and hold on for the win. Jason Novak would sneak by for second as Bosman made contact with front stretch wall finishing third, Tony and Nick Everard would round out the top five.

Adam Pallex would lead every lap and pick up his second career feature win in the IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Pallex would contend with Brandon Peterson the majority of the event, but when the dust settled it was the second year driver picking up the win. Following Pallex at the Checkers were Peterson, George Paul, Roger LaViolette and Marcus Moede.

Mathius Prouty is his first trip to ThunderHill Raceway would win the four-cylinder feature.

Artic Glacier Ice will be the sponsor for Saturday night, which will include Street Stock driver introductions.

Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer at 6:00 PM. For more information, visit the track’s website at You can also follow ThunderHill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter.

Race Summary

IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE ~ 1. Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Todd Dart, Algoma; 3. Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers; 5. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg

HEAT 1 Siefert; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken
HEAT 2 Evan Madden, Algoma; Dart
HEAT 3 Jay Matthias, DePere; Sternard

IMCA STOCKCAR FEATURE ~ 1. Troy Muench, Brussels; 2. Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; 3. Jamie Suchocki, Forestville; 4. Kyle Wanner, Suamico; 5. Charlie Kroll, Forestville

CONSI 1 Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay

HEAT 1 Wanner; Dave Bouche, Algoma
HEAT 2 Tony Bouche, Algoma; Kroll
HEAT 3 Suchocki; Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor

IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE ~ 1. Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; 2. Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Jesse Kroll, Algoma; 4. Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

CONSI Dennis Miesler

HEAT 1 Vlies; Shawn LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
HEAT 2 LeMieux; Arneson
HEAT 3 Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Reinhardt

STREET STOCK FEATURE ~ 1. Gene Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Jason Novak, Appleton; 3. James Bosman, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Tony Everard, Green Bay; 5. Nick Everard, Green Bay

HEAT 1 T. Everard; Nick Grovogel, Forestville
HEAT 2 N. Everard; Tim Jandrin, Kewaunee

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE ~ 1. Adam Pallex, Algoma; 2. Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; 3. George Paul, Luxemburg; 4. Rodger LaViolette, Forestville; 5. Marcus Moede, Algoma

HEAT 1 Peterson; Paul
HEAT 2 Derrick Moede, Casco; CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay

4 CYLINDER FEATURE ~ 1. Mathius Prouty, DePere; 2. Matt Sargent, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Matt Sargent, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Jessica Liegois, Green Bay; 4. Patrick King, Mooresville, NC

HEAT 1 Jeremy DuBois, Algoma; Prouty
HEAT 2 Matt Sargent; Mike Sargent

Previous Post: Palmer Johnson night to feature a drivers bicycle race/giveaway May 29

Next Post: Mark Reinhard Funeral Services


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 16, 2015 Race Results- The IMCA Sport Mod title is up for grabs as point leader Chris Budzban falters, while Jarred VanLaanen races into title chase with victory at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Tom Brumlic (IMCA Stock Car), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Next Sunday August 23 will be brought to you by Coors Light. Championship night is right around the corner on August 30….


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…