Posted under Race Reports on June 27th, 2010

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 26 – Defending stock car champion Mike Pierrard used a late race caution to pass Kyle Wanner to win the IMCA stock car feature at Prestige Yacht Coatings ThunderHill Raceway. Other feature winners were Mike Wedelstadt (Modified), Tom Stark (sport mod), Rob Waechter Jr. (hobby Stock), Josh Novak (street stock) and Ralph Liegeois (four-cylinders).

Casey Groessl led the first 2 circuits before Kyle Wanner would take over the top spot, a lap later Groessl’s engine would expire ending his night. Wanner would pull out to a sizable lead leaving the battle for second between Mike Pierrard and Dave Bouche. A lap 17 caution would set up a 3 lap dash to the checkers. Pierrard would muscle his way under Wanner and the pair would make contact. As the sparks flew Pierrard would take commend of the race and pick up his first win of the season. Pierrard’s win maybe his last for a long time as he leaves on Sunday due to a job relocation in Georgia. Bouche would nip Wanner at the line for second, Matt Junio fourth and points leader Greg Gretz fifth.

Mike Wedelstadt passed Jeremy Jacobs and went on to win his first feature of the season in the IMCA Modifieds.

Jeremy Jacobs used his front row starting spot to lead until Mike Wedelstadt used the high groove to power around Jacobs on lap 4 and cruised to the win. James Tebon would finish a solid second, points leader Todd Dart third, Jay Matthias and Shawn Kilgore rounded up the five.

Veteran racer Tom Stark would pass Keith Peterson to take his first career feature in the IMCA Sport Mods.

Rookie Keith Peterson would look to be having a career night leading the first 4 laps of the feature, that’s when Tom Stark made his move down low taking the lead out of turn 4. Points leader Jesse Kroll would begin to work through the pack until a busted tie rod would send his machine into the front stretch wall, ending his night. Stark would hold on and take the victory, as his car entered victory lane, flames would erupt from under the hood. The flames were extinguished and Stark would emerge unhurt. Brad Lautenbach would place second, Bernie Reinhardt and Jeff Vlies would place third and fourth. With a fifth place finish Eric Arneson moved back atop the point standings.

Rookie Josh Novak picked up his first career feature win in the Street Stocks.

David Baenen would set the early paces until a flat tire would send him pit side. Brian Weslow would inherit the lead, until Josh Novak came powering by in the high groove on lap 7. Novak would go on and win the caution free event. Second would go to Andy Paluch, James Bosman third followed by Jimmy Anderson and Tony Everard

Rob Waechter took the lead on lap 5 from Adam Pallex and went on to win his second IMCA Hobby Stock feature of the season. Marcus Moede would finish second, Rookie Travis Hackett with a career best third, Brandon Peterson and Tom Brumlic round out the top five.

Ralph Liegeois Jr. would make it a clean sweep winning his heat and feature the four-cylinders.

Next week, July 3 Poh’s Corner Pub / Stauber Electric will be the sponsor for Saturday night, which will include IMCA Sport Mod driver introductions.

Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer at 6:00 PM. For more information, visit the track’s website at You can also follow ThunderHill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Mike Wedelstadt, New London; 2. James Tebon, Algoma; 3. Todd Dart, Algoma; 4. Jay Matthias, DePere; 5. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

HEAT 1: Tebon; Tim Czarneski, Denmark
HEAT 2: Evan Madden, Algoma; Matthias

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; 2. Dave Bouche, Algoma; 3. Kyle Wanner, Suamico; 4. Matt Junio, Casco; 5. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

CONSI: Bret Koehler, Two Rivers; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg

HEAT 1: Wanner; Charlie Kroll; Forestville
HEAT 2: Jeremy Jauquet, Green Bay; Junio
HEAT 3: Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor; Gretz

IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Tom Stark, Egg Harbor; 2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; 3. Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; 5. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

HEAT 1: Chris Benes, Algoma; Arneson
HEAT 2: Tyler Hackett, Algoma; Vlies

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1. Rob Waechter Jr., Ellisville; 2. Marcus Moede, Algoma; 3. Travis Hackett, Algoma; 4. Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Tom Brumlic, Denmark

HEAT 1: CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay; Brumlic
HEAT 2: Adam Pallex, Algoma; Peterson

STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Josh Novak, Neenah; 2. Andy Paluch, Pulaski; 3. James Bosman, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Jimmy Anderson, Forestville; 5. Tony Everard, Green Bay
HEAT 1: Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Everard
HEAT 2: Brian Weslow, Green Bay; Bosman

FOUR CYLINDER FEATURE: 1. Ralph Liegeois Jr., Oconto; 2. Jeremy DuBois, Algoma; 3. Mike Sargent, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Matt Sargent, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Joey Scoon, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Liegeois; DuBois


Next Post: Door County Fair Racing Specials August 5th & 7th


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 16, 2015 Race Results- The IMCA Sport Mod title is up for grabs as point leader Chris Budzban falters, while Jarred VanLaanen races into title chase with victory at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Tom Brumlic (IMCA Stock Car), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Next Sunday August 23 will be brought to you by Coors Light. Championship night is right around the corner on August 30….


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…