Posted under Race Reports on June 20th, 2010


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 19 – Kyle Kudick was able to fend of a late race charge from Mike Wedelstadt to pick of his first win of the season at Prestige Yacht Coatings ThunderHill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (stockcar), Brad Lautenbach (sport mod), Brandon Peterson (hobby Stock), And Paluch (street stock) and Jeremy DuBois (four-cylinders).

Kyle Kudick led the opening 6 laps before Tim Czarneski would use the high groove to take over the top spot. Czarneski would battle Kudick door to door for the lead, with Kudick taking the lead back on lap 10. A caution would bunch the field and set up a 3 lap dash to the checkers. As the green flew Mike Wedelstadt would pull to the outside and Kevin Sternard to the inside with Kudick in the middle. Kudick would fight off the advances of Sternard. With the checkers waving in the air, Wedelstadt would pull along side Kudick but it wouldn’t be enough as Kudick would pick up the win his first of the season. Wedelstadt would make contact with wall finishing second, Sternard third, points leader Todd Dart fourth and Czarneski would settle for fifth.

Greg Gretz fought a hard charging Troy Muench and survived a late race caution to pick up his second feature win of the season in the IMCA Stock Car class.

Aaron Thornton would set the pace early, before Greg Gretz used the outside line in his Ford Thunderbird to take the lead on lap 4. Gretz would jump out to a huge lead, until last weeks feature winner, and point leader Troy Muench moved into the runner up spot and began to reel in Gretz. 4 laps later Muench would catch Gretz, but as they went into turn 1 one the duo made contact and Muench would suffer a flat right front tire ending his night. Gretz would look to have the race in hand until a late race caution. When racing resumed Gretz would again pull away from the field taking the win and the points lead, as co point leaders John Heinz and Muench encounter trouble and go laps down. Rookie Jeremy Wiitala would place second, Matt Junio third, Bret Koehler who came through the consi was fourth and Charlie Kroll fifth.

Brad Lautenbach would take the lead on lap 6 and go on to win his third feature of the season in the IMCA Sport Mods.

A series of wrecks would slow the early stages on the Sport Mod feature. Brad Lautenbach would quickly charge from his fifth row starting spot and take the lead away from Tim McCormick and never look back picking up the win. McCormick second, Tom Stark third, new point leader Jesse Kroll would place fourth with Rookie Chris Benes would have his best career finish placing fifth.

Brandon Peterson would take the lead away from defending track champion Frank Paul with 5 laps remaining to win his first IMCA Hobby Stock feature of the season.

Second generation driver Rob Waechter Jr. led the first 5 circuits before Frank Paul would take over the top spot. His reign up front was short lived as 2 laps later Brandon Peterson would power by. A series of cautions would keep the field bunched up. When dust settled the checkers would go to Peterson. Waechter and Paul would make contact on the last lap sending Waechter to the infield. Points leader Luke Lemmens would place second, Paul would settle for third with CJ Weckler and Rookie Travis Hackett round out your top five.

Andy Paluch powered by Jimmy Anderson on lap 5 and cruised to his second career feature win the Street Stock division. New point leader Geno Sternard would take second, David Baenen third and Jimmy Anderson and Rookie Kipp Burlo round out the top five.

Jeremy DuBois went on to win his third feature of the season in the four-cylinders, padding his point lead.

The nights races were dedicated in Memory of former racer and tech official Mark Reinhard who passed away on May 31.

Next week, June 26 Wicked Witch Enterprises LLC will be the sponsor for Saturday night, which will include IMCA Hobby Stock driver introductions.

Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer at 6:00 PM. For more information, visit the track’s website at You can also follow ThunderHill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE ~ 1. Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers; 2. Mike Wedelstadt, New London; 3. Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon; 4. Todd Dart, Algoma; 5. Tim Czarneski, Denmark

HEAT 1 ~ Kudick; Dan Ratajzcak, Frog Station
HEAT 2 ~ Wedelstadt; Sternard

IMCA STOCKCAR FEATURE ~ 1. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; 2. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay; 3. Matt Junio, Casco; 4. Bret Koehler, Two Rivers; 5. Charlie Kroll, Forestville

Consi ~ John Heinz, Green Bay; Koehler

HEAT 1 ~ Wiitala; Kyle Wanner, Suamico
HEAT 2 ~ Troy Muench, Union; Shawn Havel, Algoma
HEAT 3 ~ Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor; Kroll

IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE ~ 1. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; 2. Tim McCormick, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Tom Stark, Baileys Harbor; 4. Jesse Kroll, Algoma; 5. Chris Benes, Algoma

HEAT 1 ~ Lautenbach; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee
HEAT 2 ~ Tyler Hackett, Algoma; Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
HEAT 3 ~ Kroll; Kelsy Hayes, Sturgeon Bay

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE ~ 1. Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; 3. Frank Paul, Kewaunee; 4. CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Travis Hackett, Algoma

HEAT 1 ~ Rob Waechter Jr., Ellisville; Marcus Moede, Algoma
HEAT 2 ~ Adam Pallex, Algoma; Paul

STREET STOCK FEATURE ~ 1. Andy Paluch, Pulaski; 2. Geno Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 3. David Baenen, New Franken; 4. Jimmy Anderson, Forestville; 5. Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1 ~ Tim Jandrin, Kewaunee; Paluch
HEAT 2 ~ Burlo; Baenen

4 CYLINDER FEATURE ~ 1. Jeremy DuBois, Algoma; 2. Matt Sargent, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Mike Sargent, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Matt Trophy, Green Bay; 5. Marc Clark, Green Bay

HEAT 1 ~ Mike Sargent




Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…

Lemieux Doubles Up at Thunderhill

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Sturgeon Bay, WI)- Billy Lemieux was a star studded Man in Door County over the weekend. Not only did he rank in 135th place out of 160 players at the M.A.C Softball tournament; He decided to double up on Feature wins at Thunderhill Raceway on Sunday night. Lemieux earned wins in both the IMCA Stockcar Feature and Street Stock Feature.

Other winners included: Tyler Hackett(IMCA Modifieds) Jarred VanLaanen(IMCA Sportmods) Dave Schmidt(IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Nathan Delsart(Thunder Trucks)

David Reinhardt opened up as the King of…