By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) July 31 – Former IMCA Modified Champion Jeremy Jacobs took the lead away from Rick Johnson and went on to win his first feature of the season at Prestige Yacht Coatings ThunderHill Raceway. Other feature winners were Kyle Wanner (stockcar), Brad Lautenbach (sport mod), Travis Hackett (hobby Stock), James Bosman (street stock) and Matt Prouty (four-cylinders)

Rick Johnson set the early paces until Jeremy Jacobs used the low side to take the top spot. Jacobs would survive several late race cautions to pick up his first feature win of the season. By virtue of a second place finish Jay Matthias is now the new point leader. Third for Mike Wedelstadt, fourth Todd Dart and fifth for Billy LeMieux who start last.

Kyle Wanner picked up his second feature win of the season in the IMCA Stock Cars.

Wanner passed Mike Wietor on lap 3 and survived a caution plagued feature to take home his second feature of the year. Point leader Greg Gretz was second, third for Dave DeGrave, fourth for Rick Dix and Charlie Kroll rounded out the top five.
The #65 of Bret Koehler claimed the engine of Wanner, claim was accepted and the drivers swapped engines.

Brad Lautenbach returned in style, picking up his fourth feature win in the IMCA Sport Mods, after a neck injury sidelined him for more than a month.

Shawn LeMieux set early laps before Rod Solem took over the top spot. Solem would until 3 laps to go that’s when Lautenbach made his move and went to on to pick up a division high fourth feature win. Second went to Solem, Tom Stark third, fourth for Jeremy Cota and Jesse Brey rounded out the top five.

Rookie Travis Hackett lead from the drop of the green in the IMCA Hobby Stocks and went on to win his second career feature. Second went to CJ Weckler, third Rodger LaViolette, fourth Brandon Peterson, fifth Adam Pallex.

Point leader James Bosman passed James Anderson in the early stages of the race and went on to win by over a half a lap in the Street Stocks. Kipp Burlo came home with a career best second, third for Tony Everard, fourth James Anderson and fifth for David Baenen.

Matt Prouty picked up his second feature win of the season in the Four-Cylinders out dueling point leader Jeremy DuBois.

Thursday August 5 MSA Sprint cars with IMCA Mods and IMCA Sport Mods will be in action. Racing starts at 6pm.

Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side . For more information, visit the track’s website at www.racethunderhill.com You can also follow ThunderHill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter


IMCA MODFIED FEATURE: 1. Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; 2. Jay Matthias, DePere; 3. Mike Wedelstadt, New London; 4. Todd Dart, Algoma; 5. Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Dan Rataczjack, Frog Station; Dart
HEAT 2: Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Matthias

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Kyle Wanner, Suamico; 2. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; 3. Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; 4. Rick Dix, Green Bay; 5. Charlie Kroll, Forestville

CONSI 1: Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor; Bret Koehler, Two Rivers

HEAT 1: Gretz; Jeremy Wiitala; Green Bay
HEAT 2: John Mahlberg, Hilbert; DeGrave
HEAT 3: Ben Kroll, New Franken; Troy Muench, Union

IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; 2. Rod Solem, Seymour; 3. Tom Stark, Egg Harbor; 4. Jeremy Cota, Oconto Falls; 5. Jesse Brey, Two Rivers

HEAT 1: Martin Kelsey, Sturgeon Bay; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls
HEAT 2: Shawn LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Stark
HEAT 3: Brey; Lautenbach

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1. Travis Hackett; Algoma; 2. CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Rodger LaViolette, Forestville; 4. Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Adam Pallex, Algoma

HEAT 1: LaViolette; Peterson
HEAT 2: Weckler; Frank Paul, Kewaunee

STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. James Bosman, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Tony Everard, Green Bay; 4. James Anderson, Forestville; 5. David Baenen, New Franken

HEAT 1: Nick Grovogel, Forestville; Baenen
HEAT 2: Burlo; Bosman

FOUR CYLINDER FEATURE: 1. Matt Prouty, DePere; 2. Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Mike Sargent, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Joey Scoon, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Brian Sargent, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Prouty; DuBois