Posted under Race Reports on July 18th, 2010


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) July 17 – Jay Matthias capture his first checker of season in the IMCA Modifieds after passing Dave Zeitler on lap 3 at Prestige Yacht Coatings ThunderHill Raceway. Other feature winners were Scott Reinhardt (stockcar), Jeff Vlies (sport mod), Luke Lemmens (hobby Stock), Ryan Brandes (street stock) and Jeremy DuBois (four-cylinders)

Dave Zeitler set the early paces in the IMCA Modified feature, before second place points runner Jay Matthias took over the top spot. A series of cautions mid race would keep the field bunched. Point leader Todd Dart would visit pit lane twice during the event for damage on his car. Dart would salvage a ninth place finish. With the win Matthias sits second a single point behind Dart. Shawn Kilgore made a late race charge for the win but would come home second, third for Kevin Sternard, fourth for Kyle Kudick and Dan Ratajzcak placed fifth after starting nineteenth.

Rookie Tony Wedelstadt used a provisional starting spot to win the 2nd Annual King of the Hill Modified Tournament.
Wedelstadt defeated, last weeks winner feature Chris Derenne, former track Champion Jeremy Jacobs and defending track champion Shawn Kilgore to take home $500 courtesy Packerland Whey.

Scott Reinhardt scores first career IMCA Stockcar feature win with a borrowed engine.

Reinhardt a former Bomber and Street Stock Champion took the lead away from Tony Bouche in the early going and looked to have the race well in hand until Charlie Kroll broke threw the field and began to reel in Reinhardt. Kroll would get to Reinhardt’s rear bumper but could never complete pass. Kroll would settle for second as Reinhardt crossed the checkers first. Reinhardt who blew up his engine the week before had to borrow an engine from his brother Gary just to go racing this weekend. Brett Koehler third, Shawn Havel fourth and points leader Greg Gretz fifth.

After the feature per IMCA rules any driver in the top four of the running order can have their engines claimed by anyone outside the top four that’s on the lead lap. The #2 of Mike Gilson would claim the engine of Brett Koehler. The #42 of Ben Kroll would claim the engine of Charlie Kroll. #60 of Kyle Wanner would claim the engine of Shawn Havel and the #57 John Heinz would claim the engine of Scott Reinhardt. All claims were accepted.

Former Champion Jeff “Pepe” Vlies passed rookie Scott Boulanger with one lap to go to pick up his third feature win of the season in the IMCA Sport Mods. Boulanger second, Ryan LeMieux third, Jesse Brey and Steve Jorgenson rounded out the top five,

Ryan Brandes would pass James Bosman to score his first win of season in the Street Stocks.

Point leader Andy Paluch would suffer damage and spend most the night on pit lane, Handing the point lead over to Bosman who placed second to Brandes. Third for Matt Reinke in his first night at the track. Fourth Dennis Weidner and Tony Everard fifth.

IMCA Hobby Stock point leader Luke Lemmens won his second feature of the season passing last weeks winner Travis Hackett by mere inches at the checker. Third was Marcus Moede, fourth Brandon Peterson and fifth for Roger LaViolette.

Four-Cylinder point leader Jeremy DuBois picked up his fourth feature win of the season.

Next week, July 24 Miller Lite will be the sponsor for Saturday night, which will include Christmas in July special themed race trailers.

Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer at 6:00 PM. For more information, visit the track’s website at You can also follow ThunderHill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter

IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1 Jay Matthias, DePere; 2. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; 3. Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers; 5. Dan Ratajzcak, Frog Station

HEAT 1: Tim Czarneski, Demark; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
HEAT 2: Kyle Lentz, Green Bay; Kilgore
HEAT 3: Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor; 2. Charlie Kroll, Forestville; 3. Bret Koehler, Two Rivers; 4. Shawn Havel, Algoma; 5. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

CONSI 1: Todd Polster, Sturgeon Bay; Mike Gilson, Greenleaf
CONSI 2: Larry Karcz, Pulaski; Rick Dix, Green Bay

HEAT 1: Tony Bouche, Algoma; Kyle Wanner, Suamico
HEAT 2: Mike Wietor, Green Bay; Koehler
HEAT 3: Reinhardt; Havel
HEAT 4: John Heinz, Green Bay; John Anschutz, Brussels

IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; 2. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; 3. Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Jesse Brey, Two Rivers; 5. Steve Jorgensen, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Boulanger; Shawn LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
HEAT 2: Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Tyler Hackett, Algoma

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1. Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; 2. Travis Hackett, Algoma; 3 Marcus Moede, Algoma; 4. Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Rodger LaViolette, Forestville

HEAT 1: LaViolette; Peterson
HEAT 2: Rob Waechter Jr., Ellisville; Dave Schmidt, Algoma

STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Ryan Brandes, Brillion; 2. James Bosman, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Matt Reinke, Chilton; 4. Dennis Weidner, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Tony Everard, Green Bay

HEAT 1: Weidner; Bosman
HEAT 2: Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Jimmy Anderson, Forestville

4 CYLINDER FEATURE: 1. Jeremy Dubious, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Mathias Prouty, DePere; 3. Mike Sargent, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Matt Trophy, Green Bay; 5. Matt Sargent, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: DuBois; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls

Previous Post: 2nd Annual $500 to WIN, King of The Hill IMCA Modified Tournament July 17 @ThunderHill Raceway



Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 16, 2015 Race Results- The IMCA Sport Mod title is up for grabs as point leader Chris Budzban falters, while Jarred VanLaanen races into title chase with victory at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Tom Brumlic (IMCA Stock Car), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Next Sunday August 23 will be brought to you by Coors Light. Championship night is right around the corner on August 30….


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…