Old Faces Return to Victory Lane

by Chris Budzban

June 13, 2009; Sturgeon Bay, WI — Luxemburg’s Dave Zeitler led every lap of the IMCA modified feature en route to his first feature win of the season at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway. Zeitler wasn’t the only veteran to see victory lane as Jerry Wenzel, Eugene Gregorich and Eddie Anschutz also picked up feature wins on the night.

Zeitler grabbed the lead right out of the box and took to the high line right away. Billy Lemieux took the second spot on the low line, followed by Jeremy Jacobs. LeMieux kept Zeitler close for the first half of the race, but Zeitler pinned his car up on the top groove and powered away for the win. LeMieux hung on to second, followed by Jacobs, Kevin Sternard and Shawn Kilgore.

1995 IMCA stock car champion Jerry Wenzel took home the checkers in a hard fought battle with Troy Muench. Muench tried relentlessly to move Wenzel off of the bottom groove, but each time Wenzel shut the door. Muench moved to the top on the final lap, but was unable to make the pass and fell back to third place. Mike Pierrard slipped into the second spot at the line, followed by Muench, Pat Davister and Charlie Kroll.

Eugene Gregorich, a multi-time IMCA modified champion back in the 90s, was the victor in the IMCA northern sport mod division. Like the modified feature, this contest also went without a caution. Gregorich grabbed the point early and never looked back, picking up his second feature win of the season at Thunderhill. Eric Arneson finished second, followed by Brad Lautenbach, Jesse Kroll and Bernie Reinhardt.

2004 and 2005 IMCA hobby stock champion and current Thunderhill announcer Eddie Anschutz picked up his first career NEW super stock (formerly street stock) feature win. Anschutz held off heavy pressure from Jeremy Wiitala and Todd Everard to pick up the win in only his second night in the car. Everard finished second, followed by Dennis Weidner, Wiitala and James Anderson.

Second year IMCA hobby stock driver Luke Lemmens bested Jarred VanLaanen to pick up his first career feature win in the division. Lemmens had the lead when the red flag flew as Travis LuMaye ended up on his roof. LuMaye emerged unhurt, and Lemmens restarted the race with the lead. VanLaanen was unable to move Lemmens off the bottom and settled for second, followed by Brandon Peterson, CJ Weckler and James Bosman.

Suamico’s Tyler DeBouche dominated the 4 cylinder feature, picking up his 3rd feature win in a row.

Next week’s races are sponsored by Budweiser and 97.7 The Big Dawg. Budweiser products will be sold at the low price of $1 for the evening with a paid wristband. The Big Dawg will be broadcasting live at the track, with tons of giveaways throughout the program. For more information, visit www.racethunderhill.com or call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE — Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

Semi-feature — Jay Matthias, DePere; Tom Stark, Egg Harbor

Heat 1 — Zeitler; Kilgore

Heat 2 — Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg

Heat 3 — Sternard; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE — Jerry Wenzel, Two Rivers; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Troy Muench, Brussels; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Charlie Kroll, Forestville

Heat 1 — Tony Bouche, Algoma; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg

Heat 2 — Muench; Don Aregoni, Algoma

Heat 3 — Wenzel; Kroll

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE — Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 — Lautenbach; JJ Andersen, Pulaski

Heat 2 — Kroll; Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE — Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay; James Bosman, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 — Lemmens; VanLaanen

Heat 2 — Peterson; Bosman

NEW SUPER STOCK FEATURE — Eddie Anschutz, Algoma; Todd Everard, Green Bay; Dennis Weidner, Maplewood; Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; James Anderson, Forestville

Heat 1 — Anschutz; Aaron Thornton, Maplewood

Heat 2 — Everard; Ryan Mueller, Manitowoc

4 CYLINDER FEATURE — Tyler DeBouche, Suamico; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Sam Ambrosius, Green Bay; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 — DeBouche; Ambrosius

Heat 2 — Burlo; Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay