Next Event » July 5th - 3rd Annual John Soukup Memorial ($1,000 to win sport mods) @ 5:30pm

Tebon Roars to Victory in Mods at Thunderhill

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on July 11th, 2009

July 11, 2009; Sturgeon Bay, WI — Algoma’s James Lee Tebon got by Chris Derenne midway through the IMCA modified feature and cruised to victory at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway.

Derenne set the pace early on with Tebon lurking up high. Tebon made the pass stick on lap 10 and begun to build up a straightaway lead on the field. A caution flag flew, bunching the field. Tebon powered back to a nice lead, with action behind him. Shawn Kilgore charged hard through the field, starting on the back row up to the top 5. Tebon held on for the win, followed by Brett Wenzel, Kilgore, Art Siefert and Eric Van Iten.

Forestville’s Von Eytcheson took command of the lead early in the IMCA stock car feature, with Shawn Havel on his outside. Troy Muench, looking for a 4th straight feature win, tangled with Jamie Suchocki, putting him a lap down to the rest of the field. Havel charged hard on the outside, getting by Eytcheson and built a comfortable lead en route to the checkers. Following Havel were Eytcheson, Pat Davister, Mike Pierrard and Dave Bouche.

An opening lap fracas took out 6 cars in the IMCA northern sport mod feature. Outside polesitter Tim Mcormick spun, collecting Eric Arneson, Jeff Lautenbach and Rod Solem among others. When the race resumed, Jeff DuBois snatched the top spot with Jesse Kroll and Brad Lautenbach in tow. Kroll jumped to the outside of DuBois and rode the outside line to victory. Bernie Reinhardt, DuBois, Lautenbach and Cory Cochart would finish second through fifth, respectively.

Hometown driver Brandon Peterson picked up his first feature win of the season in the IMCA hobby stock division. It wasn’t easy, as he had to duel with the up-and-coming 2nd year driver Luke Lemmens down to the wire. In the end, the inside line prevailed for Peterson, netting him the win. Lemmens settled for second, Frank Paul third, Marcus Moede fourth and CJ Weckler fifth.

When he’s not in the booth announcing, he’s out on the track winning features. That’s the story for Thunderhill announcer/NEW super stock driver Eddie Anschutz. Anschutz has made 3 appearances on the track this season, and picked up his second win on Saturday night. He took the lead away from Gene Sternard and promptly took the checkers. Sternard finished second, followed by Jeremy Wiitala, Dennis Weidner and James Anderson.

A wild finish in the 4 cylinder feature would net a win for Sturgeon Bay’s Kipp Burlo, his 1st of the 2009 season. Jeremy DuBois was black flagged for taking out race leader Matt Borths, giving the win to Burlo.

Next week’s races are sponsored by Dave Hatch Racing. Racing gets underway at 6pm with IMCA modifieds, stock cars, hobby stocks, northern sport mods, NEW super stocks and 4 cylinders. For more information, visit the website at or call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE — James Lee Tebon, Algoma; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Art Siefert, Green Bay; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay

Heat 1 — Tebon; Rick Johnson, Gills Rock
Heat 2 — Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Van Iten
Heat 3 — Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE — Shawn Havel, Brussels; Von Eytcheson, Forestville; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Dave Bouche, Algoma

Heat 1 — Troy Muench, Brussels; Ben Kroll, New Franken
Heat 2 — Marty Abshire, Waukesha; Pierrard
Heat 3 — Havel; Bouche

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE — Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Cory Cochart, Kewaunee

Heat 1 — Tim Mcormick, Sturgeon Bay; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee
Heat 2 — Lautenbach; Nick Potts, Green Bay

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE — Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 — Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg
Heat 2 — Lemmens; Peterson

NEW SUPER STOCK FEATURE — Eddie Anschutz, Kewaunee; Gene Sternard, Luxemburg; Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; Dennis Weidner, Maplewood; James Anderson, Forestville

Heat 1 — Sternard; Anderson
Heat 2 — Todd Everard, Green Bay; Tim Jandrin, Kewaunee

4 CYLINDER FEATURE — Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Matt Borths, Algoma; Jared Smith, Luxemburg; Matt Torphy, Bonduel

Heat 1 — Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay; Kasey Gross, Gleason
Heat 2 — Burlo; Everard

Previous Post: 20 Questions with Kipp Burlo

Next Post: 20 Questions with Casey Groessl


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 21, 2015 Results- Shawn Havel took his Wolfe Racing Chassis IMCA Stock Car to victory for the second week in a row at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Tyler Hackett (IMCA Modified), Jacob Zellner (IMCA Sport Mod), Marcus Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) and James Dahlstrom (Street Stock).

Five members were inducted into the Thunderhill Raceway Hall of Fame. They were Wally Massart, Darrell Massart, Reggie Cochart, Jerry Jonet and George Henkel.

Next Sunday, June 28 will feature the Powder Puff…


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) Sunday, June 14 2015 Results- Shawn Havel used a late race restart to snatch victory from Scott Reinhardt in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Tyler Hackett (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Marcus Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) and James Dahlstrom (Street Stock). A total of 73 cars we on hand for the new night as well as a solid crowd.

Next Sunday, June 21 will feature the 2nd Annual Hall of Fame induction presented…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 5, 2015 Press Release- You heard that correct, SUNDAY! In a move to try and improve car count and fan attendance, Thunderhill Raceway has decided to move its Terry Simon Memorial to this Sunday June 7 with a new start time of 5:30pm. In action will be the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Street Stocks and the Thunder Trucks. Fans will receive free popcorn.

Track promoter Woody Wodack has been on the phone with drivers and sponsors to get the word out on the change. “The amount of…