Madden Scores First Career IMCA Mod Win at Thunderhill

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on July 18th, 2009


By Chris Budzban

July 18, 2009; Sturgeon Bay, WI — Algoma’s Evan Madden led all 20 laps and fended off heavy pressure from Kevin Sternard to pick up his first career IMCA modified victory at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway.

Madden took off from the pole position and feathered the throttle, building a nice lead over the rest of the field. Sternard started to chomp away at the lead midway through the caution-free contest, getting to Madden’s bumper with 5 laps remaining. Sternard took a peak on the inside with 1 lap to go, but Madden was able to hold him off for his first career feature win in the division. Sternard settled for second, Shawn Kilgore third, Jeremy Jacobs fourth and Todd Dart fifth.

Two Rivers’ Jerry Wenzel captured his second feature win of the season in the IMCA stock car division. Wenzel grabbed the early lead, and built up a nice lead over Jamie Suchocki and Troy Muench. A pair of caution flags flew late, but that didn’t faze Wenzel from taking the checkers. Muench took home second, followed by Suchocki, Pat Davister and Shawn Havel.

Kewaunee’s Cory Cochart sped past James Iverson to take home his second feature win of the season in the IMCA northern sport mods. Iverson led early, but was sandwiched by Cochart on the outside and Brad Lautenbach on the inside. Cochart’s pass attempt would stick, netting him the win. Bernie Reinhardt came in second, followed by Iverson, Lautenbach and Nick Potts.

In the IMCA hobby stocks, rookie driver Adam Pallex of Algoma held off late pass attempts by points leader Frank Paul and Luke Lemmens to capture his first career IMCA hobby stock feature win. Lemmens took second, Chris Christensen third, Paul fourth and Jarred VanLaanen fifth.

NEW super stock points leader Jeremy Wiitala passed Logan Rhode on the outside with 3 laps remaining to pick up his fourth feature win on the season at Thunderhill. Rhode took second, followed by James Anderson, Todd Everard and Gene Sternard

Algoma’s Matt Borths picked up his second feature win of the season in the 4 cylinder division.

Next week’s races are sponsored by Woody’s Signs and Econo Foods of Sturgeon Bay. The night will feature a “Christmas in July” theme with the regular racing program of IMCA modifieds, stock cars, hobby stocks, northern sport mods, NEW super stocks and 4 cylinders. Racing gets underway at 6pm. For more information, visit or call (920) 743-7052


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE — Evan Madden, Algoma; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Todd Dart, Algoma

Semi-feature — Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Randy Markwardt, Jr., Sheboygan

Heat 1 — Sternard; Kilgore
Heat 2 — Art Siefert, Green Bay; James Lee Tebon, Algoma
Heat 3 — Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Dart

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE — Jerry Wenzel, Two Rivers; Troy Muench, Brussels; Jamie Suchocki, Forestville; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Shawn Havel, Brussels

Heat 1 — Havel; Suchocki
Heat 2 — Muench; Marty Abshire, Waukesha
Heat 3 — Davister; Von Eytcheson, Forestville

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE — Cory Cochart, Kewaunee; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; James Iverson, Luxemburg; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Nick Potts, Green Bay

Heat 1 — Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Reinhardt
Heat 2 — Cochart; Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE — Adam Pallex, Algoma; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Chris Christensen, Carlsville; Frank Paul, Kewaunee; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay

Heat 1 — Pallex; Paul
Heat 2 — VanLaanen; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay

NEW SUPER STOCK FEATURE — Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; Logan Rhode, Manitowoc; James Anderson, Forestville; Todd Everard, Green Bay; Gene Sternard, Luxemburg

Heat 1 — Wiitala; Anderson
Heat 2 — Everard; Les Sternard, Sturgeon Bay

4 CYLINDER FEATURE — Matt Borths, Algoma; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 — Borths; DuBois
Heat 2 — Gross; Matt Sargent, Sturgeon Bay

Previous Post: 20 Questions with Casey Groessl

Next Post: Woody’s Signs and Econo Foods Sponsor “Christmas in July” Night at Thunderhill


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 16, 2015 Race Results- The IMCA Sport Mod title is up for grabs as point leader Chris Budzban falters, while Jarred VanLaanen races into title chase with victory at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Tom Brumlic (IMCA Stock Car), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Next Sunday August 23 will be brought to you by Coors Light. Championship night is right around the corner on August 30….


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…