Kilgore Dices to 2nd IMCA Modified Win at Thunderhill

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on August 1st, 2009

by Chris Budzban

August 1, 2009; Sturgeon Bay, WI – New Franken’s Shawn Kilgore sliced and diced his way through the field of IMCA modifieds to capture his 2nd feature win of the season at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway. Kilgore also won the feature on Friday night at Luxemburg Speedway.

Two Rivers’ Brett Wenzel set the pace early on in the modified feature, with Billy LeMieux and Chris Derenne right behind. Kilgore started picking off cars one by one on the outside, steadily making his way into the top 3. About halfway through, Kilgore had pulled even with Wenzel and eventually took over the lead. James Tebon followed suit and started gaining on Kilgore with 3 laps remaining. Kilgore would pull away in the final laps to take home the checkers, Tebon second, Jeremy Jacobs third, Wenzel fourth and Todd Dart fifth.

Two Rivers’ Jerry Wenzel took home the win in the IMCA stock car division for the 2nd week in a row, beating out a hard charging Shawn Havel. Wenzel had built himself a big lead, but a string of cautions bunched the field back up. With 3 laps to go, Havel jumped to the outside, but he was unable to make a move on Wenzel. Wenzel picked up the win, followed by Havel, Dave Bouche, Matt Junio and Mike Pierrard.

A photo finish occurred in the IMCA hobby stock division. Forestville’s Roger LaViolette led the majority of the feature, but was under some heavy pressure from Jarred VanLaanen and points leader Frank Paul. On the final lap, VanLaanen pulled to the outside of LaViolette, and beat him out by inches at the finish line for the win. Paul would finish third, Luke Lemmens fourth and CJ Weckler fifth.

In the IMCA northern sport mod division, New Franken’s Brad Lautenbach made a three-wide pass for the lead and held off Eugene Gregorich en route to his 2nd feature win of the season at Thunderhill. Gregorich made things interesting on the final lap, but Lautenbach edged him by about half a car length at the line. Cory Cochart came in third, Jesse Kroll fourth and Eric Arneson fifth.

Seymour’s Jeremy Wiitala padded his points lead in the NEW super stock division by picking up his 5th feature win at Thunderhill. Wiitala took the lead early from Dennis Weidner and went on to a convincing win. Weidner settled for second, Todd Everard third, John Sternard fourth and James Anderson fifth.

Sturgeon Bay’s Jeremy DuBois took home the feature win in the 4 cylinder division.

This Wednesday night, August 5 will be the annual Fair Night special at Thunderhill. Racing will begin at 6:30pm with IMCA modifieds, stock cars, hobby stocks, sport mods and 4 cylinders in action. There will be no racing next Saturday, August 8th due to the Door County Fair’s festivities. For more information, visit or call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; James Tebon, Algoma; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Todd Dart, Algoma

Semi-feature – Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Randy Markwardt, Sheboygan

Heat 1 – Tebon; Dart
Heat 2 – Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Jay Matthias, DePere
Heat 3 – Jacobs; Wenzel

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Jerry Wenzel, Two Rivers; Shawn Havel, Brussels; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Matt Junio, Casco; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay

Heat 1 – Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Wenzel
Heat 2 – Havel; Mike Wietor, Green Bay
Heat 3 – Troy Muench, Brussels; Pierrard

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Roger LaViolette, Forestville; Frank Paul, Kewaunee; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Lemmens
Heat 2 – Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Weckler

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Cory Cochart, Kewaunee; Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

Heat 1 – Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg; Arneson
Heat 2 – Kroll; Gregorich
Heat 3 – Nick Potts, Green Bay; Cochart

NEW SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; Dennis Weidner, Maplewood; Todd Everard, Green Bay; John Sternard, Green Bay; James Anderson, Forestville

Heat 1 – Weidner; Everard
Heat 2 – Wiitala; Gene Sternard, Luxemburg

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Matt Sargent, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Burlo; Matt Borths, Algoma
Heat 2 – DuBois; Gross

Previous Post: IMCA Modified Top Prize Bumped to $1,000 for Thunderhill’s Fair Night Special

Next Post: 20 Questions with Dennis Weidner


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 16, 2015 Race Results- The IMCA Sport Mod title is up for grabs as point leader Chris Budzban falters, while Jarred VanLaanen races into title chase with victory at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Tom Brumlic (IMCA Stock Car), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Next Sunday August 23 will be brought to you by Coors Light. Championship night is right around the corner on August 30….


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…