Next Event » May 30 - Regular Program sponsored by Palmer Johnson - 6pm


Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on May 23rd, 2009


by Chris Budzban

May 23, 2009; Sturgeon Bay, WI – New Franken’s Shawn Kilgore made the move to the inside of Kevin Sternard on the final lap to win he IMCA modified feature at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway. Kilgore also took home the win on Friday night at Luxemburg Speedway.

In other action, Chargin’ Charlie Kroll dominated the IMCA stock car feature while Jarred VanLaanen led every lap of the IMCA hobby stock feature event.

Sternard took off from his front row starting spot and built up a sizable lead, but that would be wiped out by a caution for debris on the track. With the grid reset, Kilgore shot up to 2nd past Billy LeMieux and set his sights on Sternard. With 2 laps to go, Kilgore started to make the move on the inside and took the lead with 1 lap remaining, holding off Sternard for his 2nd feature win on the weekend. LeMieux finished third, Julie Wedelstadt fourth and Todd Dart fifth.

Kroll started about four rows back in the pack, but it did not take him long to find the lead. He powered past John Anschutz and Mike Pierrard and never looked back, taking home his 1st feature win of the season. Dave Bouche came in second, followed by Von Eytcheson, Pierrard and Jamie Suchocki.

VanLaanen started on the outside pole of the IMCA hobby stock feature and led every lap en route to his 1st feature win at Thunderhill, and 2nd feature win overall. Frank Paul started dead last in the field and took second, followed by Robert Waechter Jr., Roger LaViolette and Brandon Peterson.

Kewaunee’s Eugene Gregorich came out victorious in the IMCA northern sport mod feature. Gregorich did battle with Jesse Kroll for the top spot throughout the race, and held off the rest of the pack to pick up the win. A frenzy of a finish occurred after Bernie Reinhardt struck an infield tire coming to the checkers, scattering the field. Reinhardt held on to take second, Troy Jerovetz third, Cory Cochart fourth and Kroll fifth.

The tough luck continued for Jeremy Wiitala in the NEW super stock division. For the second week in a row he was passed on the final lap of the feature event, this time by Todd Everard. Wiitala again took runner-up honors, followed by Ryan Mueller, John Sternard and Logan Rhode.

Green Bay’s Tyler DeBouche captured the 4 cylinder feature win. Kasey Gross and Kipp Burlo finished second and third, respectively.

In some extra curricular racing, Todd Dart picked up an extra $300 in a special “Dash for the Cash” race by the IMCA modified drivers.

Next week’s races are sponsored by Palmer Johnson of Sturgeon Bay. Racing begins at 6 p.m. on Saturday evening with IMCA modifieds, stock cars, hobby stocks, sport mods, NEW super stocks and 4 cylinders. For more information, check out or call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Julie Wedelstadt, Oconto Falls; Todd Dart, Algoma

Heat 1 – Sternard; Kilgore
Heat 2 – Art Siefert, Green Bay; Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers
Heat 3 – Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; LeMieux

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Von Eytcheson, Forestville; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Jamie Suchocki, Forestville

Heat 1 – Jerry Wenzel, Two Rivers; Shawn Havel, Brussels
Heat 2 – Eytcheson; Kroll

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Robert Waechter Jr., Ellisville; Roger LaViolette, Forestville; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – C.J. Weckler, Sturgeon Bay; Marcus Moede, Luxemburg
Heat 2 – VanLaanen; Peterson

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Cory Cochart, Kewaunee; Jesse Kroll, Algoma

Heat 1 – Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken
Heat 2 – Kroll; Gregorich

NEW SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Todd Everard, Green Bay; Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; Ryan Mueller, Manitowoc; John Sternard, Green Bay; Logan Rhode, Manitowoc

Heat 1 – Everard; David Baenen, Green Bay
Heat 2 – Mueller; Rhode

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Tyler DeBouche, Green Bay; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Burlo; Gross
Heat 2 – DeBouche; DuBois

Previous Post: 6 Time Champion Dart Tops Mods at Thunderhill

Next Post: Dart Nabs Second Feature Win at Thunderhill


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) May 16, 2015 Results- “Hot Rod” Snellenberger capitalized on a late race restart to score the victory in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Bernie Reinhardt (IMCA Sport Mod), Marcus Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock).

Next Saturday, May 23 the IMCA Stock Cars will be racing for $1000 to win.

A field of 18 IMCA Stock Cars took to the track to do battle. John Anschutz and Tom Brumlic battled…


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) May 9, 2015 Results- Last night at Thunderhill Raceway a pair cagey veterans in Tony Bouche and Charlie Kroll squared off. Bouche was able to put his 38 years of racing knowledge to good use as he out dueled Kroll late in the going to score a popular win in the IMCA Stock Cars. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Cody Rass (IMCA Sport Mod), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock) and James Dahlstrom (Street Stock)

With a perfect racing…


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) May 1, 2015 Results- Defending IMCA Stock Car champ Dave “The Bulldozer” Bouche used a late race restart to steal the victory away from Billy LeMieux by inches at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were, Eric Arneson (IMCA Modified), Chris Budzban (IMCA Sport Mod), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Billy LeMieux leapt from his front row starting spot to the lead early in the IMCA Stock Car headliner. Evan Madden hustled to the…