Dart Passes Kilgore on Final Lap for Modified Victory at Thunderhill

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on August 23rd, 2009

by Chris Budzban

August 22, 2009; Sturgeon Bay, WI – Seeking his 7th modified track title, Todd Dart cut his deficit to a mere two points by winning the IMCA modified feature over Shawn Kilgore at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway.

Ryan LeMieux and Chris Derenne fought for the early lead of the modified feature, with Brett Wenzel close behind. Kilgore rode the outside lane into the 4th spot, and motored past Wenzel and in between LeMieux and Derenne to take the lead. Kilgore built up a strong lead with Dart getting into the second spot. A caution flag flew with 4 laps remaining, taking away Kilgore’s advantage. Dart made his move with the white flag in the air, and was able to make the inside pass stick to get the win. Kilgore settled for second, Tim Czarneski third, Jeremy Jacobs fourth and Jay Matthias fifth.

In the special “King of the Hill” IMCA modified races, Czarneski defeated Dave Zeitler, Dan Ratajczak and finally Kilgore to pick up the $500 prize, courtesy of Packerland Whey.

Brussels’ Troy Muench captured his 4th feature win of the season in the IMCA stock car division. Charlie Kroll set the pace early, building up a nice lead over Muench and Pat Davister. A caution flag flew, and on the restart Davister looked to the inside of Kroll with Muench to the outside. Kroll was able to fight off Davister, but then Muench was able to get by. Muench would go on to win, Davister second, followed by Kroll, Kyle Wanner and Brandon Czarapata.

Luck was on the side of Kewaunee’s Eugene Gregorich in the IMCA northern sport mod feature. Gregorich wrestled the lead away from Luxemburg’s Dave Davister with 3 laps remaining in the contest, and looked to be on his way to another win. When the white flag flew, Gregorich’s transmission broke, slowing his mount on the backstretch. However, a caution flag flew for an incident between James Iverson and points leader Brad Lautenbach, which by rule gave the win to Gregorich. Eric Arneson would be scored second, followed by Jesse Kroll, Davister and Cory Cochart.

Sturgeon Bay’s Brandon Peterson was able to make the pass on Jarred VanLaanen on the final lap of the IMCA hobby stock feature. VanLaanen led most of the contest, with plenty of heat applied by Luke Lemmens. Peterson charged his way to the front, and glued his front bumper to the back of VanLaanen. Into turn 1, VanLaanen went a little too high, and Peterson went by to get the win. VanLaanen settled for second, Lemmens third, Frank Paul fourth and Robert Waechter, Jr. fifth.

Green Bay’s Todd Everard held off heavy pressure from points leader Jeremy Wiitala to capture the win in the NEW super stock division. Wiitala tried the outside on several occasions to get by, but Everard was too strong and fought off every challenge. Wiitala settled for second, Dennis Weidner third, James Anderson fourth and David Baenen fifth.

4 cylinder points leader Kipp Burlo padded his lead by picking up the feature win over Matt Borths.

Next week is Harbor Lady Cruises Championship Night. 2009 Champions will be crowned in all six divisions. Racing gets underway at 6pm. For more information, visit www.racethunderhill.com or call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Todd Dart, Algoma; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Jay Matthias, DePere

Heat 1 – Czarneski; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg
Heat 2 – Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Dart
Heat 3 – Kilgore; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Troy Muench, Brussels; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Kyle Wanner, Sobieski; Brandon Czarapata, Appleton

Semi-feature – Tony Bouche, Algoma; Kerry Douglas, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Czarapata
Heat 2 – Muench; Bret Koehler, Two Rivers
Heat 3 – Kroll; Shawn Havel, Brussels

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Cory Cochart, Kewaunee

Heat 1 – Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg; Gregorich
Heat 2 – Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Steve Georgenson, Sturgeon Bay

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Robert Waechter, Jr., Ellisville

Heat 1 – CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay; Lemmens
Heat 2 – Paul; Peterson

NEW SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Todd Everard, Green Bay; Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay; Dennis Weidner, Maplewood; James Anderson, Forestville; David Baenen, Green Bay

Heat 1 – Everard; Baenen
Heat 2 – Andy Paluch, Pulaski; Wiitala

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Matt Borths, Algoma; Charlie Gross, Gleason; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Tony Everard, Green Bay

Heat 1 – Everard; Mike Sargent, Sturgeon Bay
Heat 2 – Burlo; Borths

Previous Post: King of the Hill IMCA Modified Races Tonight at Thunderhill




By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) December 18, 2014 Press Release- Since the last press release several items have been added to the drivers meeting this Friday, December 19th at 7pm at the Draft Haus in Sturgeon Bay.

First and foremost we ask everyone to attend this meeting. Whether you’re on the fence about your 2015 plans or you’re a full-time Thunderhill racer, we want you there. To sweeten the pot, multiple driver giveaways will take place for those who attend. With lowered gas prices, a great…


Thunderhill 2015 Drivers Meeting Dec 19

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) December 9th Press Release- Thunderhill Raceway preps for the 2015 season and will hold it’s drivers meeting on Friday December 19th, at The Draft Haus Sports Bar at 7:00 pm. The Draft Haus is located at 901 Egg Harbor Rd. Sturgeon Bay.

Fresh off the $30,000 contingency awards banquet last month, promoter Woody Wodack feels the track gaining traction heading for the 2015 season. “We put together one of the best contingency packages any dirt track in northeastern Wisconsin has ever seen.”…