Next Event » May 2nd - Marchant's Meats - Regular Program - 6pm

Dart Nabs Second Feature Win at Thunderhill

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on May 30th, 2009


by Chris Budzban

May 30, 2009; Sturgeon Bay, WI – Although he won the IMCA modified points title for the sixth time in 2008, Algoma’s Todd Dart did not have a single feature win on the season. It didn’t take him long to grab his first feature win of 2009, and he notched his second feature win tonight at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway.

Dart followed early race leader Eric Van Iten on the bottom of the race track for several laps, then turned on the jets and headed up to the middle groove. He was able to make the pass with 4 laps to go and hang on for the win. Van Iten would take second, Jeremy Jacobs third, Mike Wedelstadt fourth and Tim Czarneski fifth.

Brussels’ Shawn Havel also captured his second feature win of the season at Thunderhill in the IMCA stock car division. Havel grabbed the lead early and never relinquished, fending off an early challenge from division rookie Dave DeGrave to take the checkers. DeGrave finished second, Pat Davister third, Dave Bouche fourth and Bret Koehler fifth.

The IMCA hobby stocks, dubbed the “wild things,” excited the crowd with early three and four wide action up front. Frank Paul took command of the race with last week’s winner Jarred VanLaanen and Luke Lemmens nipping at his heels. A caution set up a green-white-checker finish, with Paul edging VanLaanen at the line for the win. Lemmens finished third, Chad Kaminski fourth and a spinning Aaron Zellner fifth.

Second year IMCA northern sport mod driver JJ Andersen bested Cory Cochart to win his first career feature in the division. Cochart tried relentlessly to pass Andersen on the inside, but to no avail. Cochart settled for second, Bernie Reinhardt third, Jesse Kroll fourth and Brad Lautenbach fifth.

Seymour’s Jeremy Wiitala ended his tough luck by bringing home the win in the NEW super stock division. Ryan Mueller led the majority of the race, when with 2 laps to go he was sandwiched by Wiitala on the outside and John Sternard on the inside. Wiitala was able to make the pass, taking the win. Mueller took second, Sternard third, Joe Schwister fourth and David Hoerning fifth.

Suamico’s Tyler DeBouche captured the 4 cylinder win for the second week in a row. Kasey Gross was the runner up, also the second week in a row he’s finished there.

The IMCA modifieds held another “Dash for the Cash” special, with Mike Wedelstadt coming out victorious.

Next week The Big Dawg 97.7 will sponsor the racing action. Racing gets underway at 6pm on Saturday evening with IMCA modifieds, stock cars, hobby stocks, northern sport mods, NEW super stocks and 4 cylinders. For more information, visit or call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Todd Dart, Algoma; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Tim Czarneski, Denmark

Semi-feature – Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Wedelstadt; Jacobs
Heat 2 – Van Iten; Jay Matthias, DePere
Heat 3 – James Tebon, Algoma; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Shawn Havel, Brussels; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Bret Koehler, Two Rivers

Heat 1 – Jamie Suchocki, Forestville; Havel
Heat 2 – Scott Reinhardt, Bailey’s Harbor; Von Eytcheson, Forestville
Heat 3 – DeGrave; Tony Bouche, Algoma

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg

Heat 1 – Paul; VanLaanen
Heat 2 – Lemmens, Marcus Moede, Luxemburg

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – JJ Andersen, Pulaski; Cory Cochart, Kewaunee; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken

Heat 1 – Kroll; Lautenbach
Heat 2 – Rod Solem, Seymour; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee

NEW SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; Ryan Mueller, Manitowoc; John Sternard, Green Bay; Joe Schwister, Black Creek; David Hoerning, Appleton

Heat 1 – Mueller; Sternard
Heat 2 – Wiitala; Matt Grismann, Kaukauna

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Tyler DeBouche, Suamico; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – DeBouche; DuBois
Heat 2 – Nick Everard, Green Bay; Tony Everard


Next Post: 20 Questions with Evan Madden

WDOR Opening Night is ON for Tonight 4/25

We ARE racing tonight! Dress warm and bring your friends out to the track for WDOR​ Opening Night at Thunderhill Raceway! IMCA modifieds, stock cars, sport mods, hobby stocks, street stocks and thunder trucks kick off the 2015 season! Let the Thunder roll!


Thunderhill Raceway Season Opener April 25

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) Press Release- Thunderhill Raceway is set to drop the green flag on the 2015 season this Saturday, April 25 at 6 p.m. Countless hours of track prep have already taken place, the food will be hot, the drinks will be cool and the racing will be action packed on the 1/3rd mile bullring. Dan Lewis will be on hand to take care of all your photo needs.

A complete and detailed schedule has been added the tracks website
Here’s a few of…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) April 21, 2015 Press Release- Thunderhill Raceway is ready for its first point night of the season this Saturday, April 25. The IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Street Stocks and Thunder Trucks will be in action. The night will be brought to you by WDOR. Racing starts at 6PM

2014 Championship recap:
In the highly contested Rouer’s Grand Slam IMCA Stock Car division it was Dave “The Bulldozer” Bouche winning his 3rd straight title in a row. Shawn Havel came up just 3 points short of Bouche. Charlie Kroll stayed…