Next Event » April 25 - WDOR OPENING NIGHT 6pm

6 Time Champion Dart Tops Mods at Thunderhill

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on May 16th, 2009


Photos courtesy of Holly Anschutz

by Chris Budzban

May 16, 2009; Sturgeon Bay, WI – Algoma’s Todd Dart took the lead early and held off another former champion Jeremy Jacobs on his way to the IMCA modified feature win at Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway. Also, Ellisville’s Robert Waechter Jr. picked up his 1st career IMCA hobby stock feature win.

Sturgeon Bay’s Kevin Sternard led the early stages of the IMCA modified feature, until a spin by Dan Ratajczak bunched the field. Dart and Jacobs would both attempt to make the pass on Sternard, with Dart down low and Jacobs up high. Dart was able to get the better run and hugged the tires, picking up the feature win. Jacobs finished second, Shawn Kilgore third, Sternard fourth and last week’s winner Mike Wedelstadt fifth.

In the IMCA stock car division, Brussels’ Shawn Havel took advantage of his front row starting position, riding comfortably to his 1st feature win on the season. Luxemburg’s Pat Davister and Two Rivers’ Bret Koehler battled to the checkers for second, with Davister coming out ahead. Troy Muench and Dave Bouche rounded out the top five.

In the IMCA hobby stocks, Waechter rode the outside line and dominated the feature event. He was followed to the checkers by Chad Kaminski, Frank Paul, Brandon Peterson and Marcus Moede.

Kewaunee’s Cory Cochart would lead most of the IMCA northern sport mod feature, when with 1 lap to go, smoke started to barrel out of the car. Last year’s track champion Jeff Vlies took to the outside of Cochart, but Cochart had just enough left in the car to beat him to the line for the win by inches. Bernie Reinhardt followed in third, Jeff DuBois fourth and Brad Lautenbach fifth.

Defending track champion John Sternard caught early leader Jeremy Wiitala with a few laps remaining, and was able to beat him to the checkers in a clean side-by-side battle in the NEW super stock division. Following Sternard and Wiitala were Jimmy Anderson, Geno Sternard and Logan Rhode.

Three time 4 cylinder champion Tony Everard inherited the lead from Tyler DeBouche and picked up his 2nd straight victory.

Next week’s sponsor is Ladder House Sports Bar & Grill of Sturgeon Bay. Racing kicks off at 6 p.m. on Saturday evening featuring IMCA modifieds, stock cars, hobby stocks, northern sport mods, NEW super stocks and 4 cylinders. For more information, visit or call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Todd Dart, Algoma; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont

Semi-feature – James Tebon, Algoma; Tim Czarneski, Denmark

Heat 1 – Wedelstadt; Sternard
Heat 2 – Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Jacobs
Heat 3 – Dart; Tom Stark, Egg Harbor

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Shawn Havel, Brussels; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Bret Koehler, Two Rivers; Troy Muench, Brussels; Dave Bouche, Algoma

Semi-feature – Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Scott Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Koehler; Charlie Kroll, Forestville
Heat 2 – Havel; Tony Bouche, Algoma
Heat 3 – Jerry Wenzel, Two Rivers; Muench

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Robert Waechter Jr., Ellisville; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Marcus Moede, Luxemburg

Heat 1 – Waechter Jr.; Kaminski
Heat 2 – Peterson; Roger LaViolette, Forestville

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Cory Cochart, Kewaunee; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken

Heat 1 – Lautenbach; Doug Maurer, Green Bay
Heat 2 – Cochart; Vlies

NEW SUPER STOCK FEATURE – John Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; Jimmy Anderson, Forestville; Geno Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Logan Rhode, Manitowoc

Heat 1 – Anderson; Wiitala
Heat 2 – Rhode; Sternard

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Tony Everard, Green Bay; Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Nick Everard, Green Bay; Jason Cornelius, Oneida

Heat 1 – N. Everard; Sam Ambrosius, Green Bay
Heat 2 – Cornelius; Kasey Gross, Gleason

Previous Post: Wedelstadt, Snellenberger Win Opener at Thunderhill


Practice called off at Thunderhill Raceway for Sunday April 12

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) April 11, 2015 Press Release- The tentative practice for Sunday April 12 at Thunderhill Raceway has been called off due to the track being to wet.

The next practice is set for April 18. The first points night is on April 25.

Six divisions do battle every Saturday night through the summer. IMCA Modified, IMCA Stock Car, IMCA Northern Sport Mod, IMCA Hobby Stock Street Stock and Thunder Trucks will compete on the 1/3rd mile bullring. For more information, please visit the track’s website at Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) April 10, 2015 Press Release- Thunderhill Raceway has scheduled a tentative practice for this Sunday, April 12. Starting at 1pm till 4pm. We understand it’s short notice but if we’re able to prep the track in time, we’d like to get drivers on it soon as possible. Right now it’s wet but with promising weather this weekend we’re crossing our fingers it’s ready for Sunday. We’ll keep everyone updated on the status of the practice via the tracks website, Facebook and Twitter. Pit entrance will be $15 per driver, $10 for crew. Gates open…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) April 10, 2015 Press Release- Algoma’s Evan Madden will have his 2015 Wolfe Racing Chassis IMCA Stock Car on display for the Monster Truck show at the Resch Center this weekend. Madden’s Crew Chief Brenan Parkos, who is a professional quad racer was approached by Monster Jam promoters in search of what Wisconsin fans are into. The answer was easy for Parkos, “Dirt track racing!”

Madden will have his black and green racing machine on display for the three Monster Jam shows on April 11-12. He is rumored to have a few hot laps in…