Next Event » August 9 Regular Program Sponsored by S&B Trailers & Terry Simon Memorial Fund (Trailer Races) @ 5:30pm

Wedelstadt Dominates at Thunderhill

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on May 24th, 2008

By Chris Budzban

May 24, 2008; Sturgeon Bay, WI – Fremont’s Mike Wedelstadt charged through the field of IMCA modifieds in his first appearance of the year and took home a commanding win at the Forest County Potawatomi Thunderhill Raceway.

Jay Matthias was the early race leader in the IMCA modifieds, with Shawn Kilgore and James Tebon racing side by side for second. Wedelstadt split Kilgore and Tebon through turn four, and set his sights on Matthias. He made the pass down low, and took off with a half a lap lead on the rest of the field. Matthias settled for second, Billy LeMieux, Kilgore and Tebon followed.

Forestville’s Charlie Kroll picked up his second IMCA stock car feature win of the weekend, also posting a win at Luxemburg. Darren Otto and Pat Davister started on the front row, and battled side by side the entire race until there were three laps to go. Kroll made room under Otto, and made the three wide pass for the lead and the win. Otto picked up second, followed by Davister, last week’s winner Von Eytcheson and Cory Cochart.

Frank Paul took early command of the IMCA hobby stock feature, with Brandon Peterson and Dave DeGrave battling behind. DeGrave and Peterson sandwiched Paul coming into turn three, and Peterson came out with the lead on the bottom groove. DeGrave tried the high line to pass Peterson, but to no avail. Chad Kaminski got under DeGrave for second, and Peterson drove away with the win. Jason LaViolette was fourth, and Paul ended up fifth. James Zellner claimed the engine of LaViolette, and the claim was accepted.

IMCA northern sport mod rookie Jesse Kroll led most of the feature, but slid up the track allowing fellow rookie Bernie Reinhardt to take the lead underneath. Opening night winner Aaron Holiday would give chase on the outside line, but Reinhardt would hold him off for his first career sport mod feature win. Kroll finished third, but was later disqualified for failing to enter the claim area. Last week’s winner Jeff Vlies was awarded third and Jeff DuBois fourth.

Seymour’s Jeremy Wiitala led wire to wire in the street stock division for his first feature win of the season. John Sternard and David Hoerning battled each other for the third week in a row, with Sternard taking second and Hoerning third. Aaron Thornton made his return to Thunderhill with a fourth place finish and last week’s winner Todd Everard rounded out the top five.

A tangle between race leader Jody Cornelius and Tony Everard gave the lead to Jason Cornelius in the 4 cylinders. Jason Cornelius went on to win, followed by Rick Lemmens, Everard, Jeremy DuBois and Kipp Burlo.

Next week is sponsored by Econo Foods of Sturgeon Bay. Racing gets underway at 6 p.m. on Saturday evening. The track’s website is For more information, call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Jay Matthias, DePere; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; James Tebon, Algoma

Heat 1 – Kilgore; Tebon
Heat 2 – Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Todd Dart, Algoma

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Darren Otto, Green Bay; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Von Eytcheson, Forestville; Cory Cochart, Kewaunee

Semi-feature – Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Scott Pagels, Egg Harbor

Heat 1 – Cochart; Eytcheson
Heat 2 – Tony Bouche, Algoma; Rick Mahlberg, Green Bay
Heat 3 – Troy Muench, Brussels; Davister
Heat 4 – Kroll; Otto

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Jason LaViolette, Little Sturgeon; Frank Paul, Luxemburg

Heat 1 – DeGrave; Peterson
Heat 2 – Paul; LaViolette

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg

Heat 1 – Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Jesse Kroll, Algoma
Heat 2 – DuBois; Reinhardt

STREET STOCK FEATURE – Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; John Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; David Hoerning, Appleton; Aaron Thornton, Maplewood; Todd Everard, Green Bay

Heat 1 – Hoerning; Geno Sternard, Sturgeon Bay
Heat 2 – James Iverson, Luxemburg; Everard

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Rick Lemmens, Kewaunee; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Everard; Burlo
Heat 2 – Jody Cornelius, Oneida; Jason Cornelius

Previous Post: 1st Career Modified Win for Czarneski at Thunderhill

Next Post: McDermid Tops Mods; Two in a Row for Wiitala & Reinhardt at Thunderhill

Lemieux Doubles Up at Thunderhill

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Sturgeon Bay, WI)- Billy Lemieux was a star studded Man in Door County over the weekend. Not only did he rank in 135th place out of 160 players at the M.A.C Softball tournament; He decided to double up on Feature wins at Thunderhill Raceway on Sunday night. Lemieux earned wins in both the IMCA Stockcar Feature and Street Stock Feature.

Other winners included: Tyler Hackett(IMCA Modifieds) Jarred VanLaanen(IMCA Sportmods) Dave Schmidt(IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Nathan Delsart(Thunder Trucks)

David Reinhardt opened up as the King of…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) July 19, 2015 Results- After a 3-wide battle Jamie Suchocki took home his second feature win in as many weeks at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Jacob Zellner (IMCA Sport Mod), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck). For video of the nightly races check out Pain Racing on Facebook or YouTube. For photos check out

Next Sunday, July 26 Door Counties favorite son, Greg Aregoni will be announcing the action. Night twelve will be brought to you by Woody’s Signs of…


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) July 12, 2015 Results- Jamie Suchocki out lasted Jeremy Anschutz to score his first IMCA Stock Car feature of the season at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Josh Lambert (IMCA Sport Mod), Marcus Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) & James Dahlstrom (Street Stock)

The drivers bike race and give-away will take place next Sunday at Thunderhill Raceway and be brought to you by Bissen Asphalt and Sturgeon Bay Sand & Gravel. Racing starts at 5:30pm

Rookie Kevin Luedtke…