McDermid Scores Fall Classic Win!

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on September 20th, 2008


By Chris Budzban

September 20, 2008; Sturgeon Bay, WI – Oconto Falls’ Julie McDermid took home the top prize in the IMCA modified division at the Forest County Potawatomi Thunderhill Raceway’s Fall Classic special.

Denmark’s Tim Czarneski set the pace early on, hugging the bottom groove around the slick race track. McDermid shot into second, then hopped up to the outside to try and make the pass around Czarneski. Shawn Kilgore also got into the mix, as he tried to thread the needle between the two. They would run 3-wide around the track for 5 laps, with Kilgore slicing through into the top spot; however a caution flag flew just as Kilgore completed his move, handing the lead to McDermid. Once she got on the bottom, McDermid was able to pull away from the bunch, and held off a late charge by Mike Wedelstadt to pick up the win. Wedelstadt finished second, followed by Todd Dart, Kilgore and MJ Hintz.

Brussels’ Troy Muench continued his recent string of victories in the IMCA stock car division, as he held off 2008 track champion Matt Junio for the feature win. Muench took the lead early from Tony Bouche, and held the lead throughout the event. The only caution in the race bunched up the field with 2 laps to go, but Muench broke away from the pack again to take the victory. Junio finished second, followed by Jeremy Christians, Dave Bouche and Shawn Havel.

Weekly IMCA modified driver Brett Wenzel took off from his front row starting spot to capture the feature win in the visiting grand national division. Wenzel took the lead on the outside and ran the high line the entire race to the checkers. Following him at the line were Brad Lubach, Dan Schumacher, Nick Schumacher and Justin Danes.

Another wild and wacky feature event in the IMCA hobby stocks took place, with Luxemburg’s Frank Paul besting Chad Kaminski to bring home the win. Marcus Moede may have had the most eventful night, as he took two trips down pit lane and had to have corner workers extinguish fires from underneath his car. In the end, he still managed a fourth place finish. Kaminski would take second, Jarred VanLaanen third and Tom Brumlic fifth.

2008 IMCA northern sport mod champion Jeff Vlies drew the pole for the feature, and led every lap en route to the feature win. Bernie Reinhardt ended up second, Eugene Gregorich third, Brad Lautenbach fourth and Aaron Holiday fifth.

Brillion’s Ryan Brandes picked up another feature win in the street stock division. He was able to make the outside pass stick on David Hoerning and fended off track champion John Sternard for the win. Sternard finished second, Hoerning third, Todd Everard fourth and James Iverson fifth.

Three time track champion Tony Everard got by Jody Cornelius on the inside to bring home the feature win in the 4 cylinders.

The 2008 season has come to a close for the Forest County Potawatomi Thunderhill Raceway. The staff would like to thank all the drivers, fans and sponsors for a great season of racing.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Julie McDermid, Oconto Falls; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Todd Dart, Algoma; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; MJ Hintz, DePere

Last Chance 1 – Dart; Art Siefert, Green Bay
Last Chance 2 – Kyle Lentz, Green Bay; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Troy Muench, Brussels; Matt Junio, Casco; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Shawn Havel, Brussels

Last Chance 1 – Jamie Suchocki, Forestville; Don Aregoni, Sturgeon Bay
Last Chance 2 – Havel; Von Eytcheson, Forestville

GRAND NATIONAL FEATURE – Brett Wenzel, Two Rivers; Brad Lubach, Elkhart Lake; Dan Schumacher, Milwaukee; Nick Schumacher, Milwaukee; Justin Danes, New Holstein

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Tom Brumlic, Denmark

Last Chance 1 – Moede; VanLaanen
Last Chance 2 – Robert Waechter, Jr., Ellisville; CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay

STREET STOCK FEATURE – Ryan Brandes, Brillion; John Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; David Hoerning, Appleton; Todd Everard, Green Bay; James Iverson, Luxemburg

Last Chance – Thom Terrien, New Franken; Marvin Denny, Sturgeon Bay

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Tony Everard, Green Bay; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Jeff Harder, Hards Grove; Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay; Mark Kuhfuss, Sheboygan Falls

Last Chance – Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay

Previous Post: LeMieux Jr. Wins 2nd Straight IMCA Mod Feature

Next Post: 51 Cars Attend Thunderhill Practice Session


2015 Thunderhill Raceway Motor Giveaways

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) Press Release January 8, 2015- Thunderhill Raceway competitors in the IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods and Street Stocks will be racing for brand new engines. Last season Thunderhill boasted a $30,000 contingency plan at the champions awards banquet, the same will take place in 2015.

The IMCA Stock Cars will be competing for an Extreme Enterprises 500 spec engine valued at $5,000. Jim Olson Motors of Sturgeon Bay has once again stepped up with a brand new GM 602 Crate engine giveaway…



By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) December 18, 2014 Press Release- Since the last press release several items have been added to the drivers meeting this Friday, December 19th at 7pm at the Draft Haus in Sturgeon Bay.

First and foremost we ask everyone to attend this meeting. Whether you’re on the fence about your 2015 plans or you’re a full-time Thunderhill racer, we want you there. To sweeten the pot, multiple driver giveaways will take place for those who attend. With lowered gas prices, a great…