Jacobs Delivers in Mods; Three in a Row for Reinhardt

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on June 14th, 2008

By Chris Budzban

June 14, 2008; Sturgeon Bay, WI – Jeremy Jacobs ended a drought that lasted nearly two years by picking up the IMCA modified feature win at the Forest County Potawatomi Thunderhill Raceway. Bernie Reinhardt cashed in for the third week in a row taking the checkers in the IMCA northern sport mods.

Early on it was Frog Station’s Dan Ratajczak holding the lead with Jacobs hot on his heels. Ratajczak would get loose in the rough stuff, allowing Jacobs to wrestle away the lead on the inside. A caution with 7 laps to go would bunch up the field, with James Tebon looking to take advantage on the outside. Jacobs stuck to the bottom and built up a nice lead and coasted to his first victory of the season. Shawn Kilgore would take second, Todd Dart in third, Tebon in fourth and Benji LaCrosse fifth.

Charlie Kroll kept his hot streak going in the IMCA stock car division. Pat Davister and Marty Abshire fought for the lead early with Kroll right behind. Kroll dove to the bottom to make the pass for the lead and left the rest of the field fighting for position. Contact between Abshire and Dave Bouche sent Abshire to the tail and more contact from Tyler Smith and John Heinz brought out a caution. Kroll would survive for the win followed by Bouche, Davister, Ben Kroll and Todd Polster.

Dave DeGrave continued his dominance of the IMCA hobby stocks picking up his 3rd feature win of the season at Thunderhill. Jeff Lautenbach looked like the man to beat, but a spin would give the lead over to Marcus Moede. Moede would battle with DeGrave for the top spot, with DeGrave taking the lead on the outside. DeGrave eased his way through lapped traffic to secure the victory, his 7th feature victory overall. Moede took second, Frank Paul third, Jarred VanLaanen fourth and Luke Lemmens fifth.

After some early season trouble, it looks like Bernie Reinhardt is the man to beat in the IMCA northern sport mod division. Reinhardt took the lead on lap 1 and never looked back, taking his 3rd feature victory in a row. Jeff Vlies ended up second, followed by Charlie Kroll, Jesse Kroll and Keith Kickbusch.

Maplewood’s Dennis Weidner captured his first career feature victory in the street stock division. Last week, Weidner held the lead with 3 laps to go, only to see it slip away. This week had a similar feel, but Weidner would survive the late race restart besting Jeremy Wiitala for the win. Wiitala took second, John Sternard third, James Iverson fourth and Todd Everard fifth.

Tailer Ness would capture the feature win in the crash-filled 4 cylinder feature event. Ness also captured the heat race victory.

Next week’s races are sponsored by Northland Steel of Sturgeon Bay. Racing gets underway at 6 p.m. on Saturday evening. The track’s website is For more information, call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Todd Dart, Algoma; James Tebon, Algoma; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg

Heat 1 – Tebon; Jay Matthias, DePere
Heat 2 – Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Jacobs

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Todd Polster, Sturgeon Bay

Semi-feature 1 – Von Eytcheson, Forestville; Scott Pagels, Egg Harbor
Semi-feature 2 – Troy Muench, Brussels; John Anschutz, Brussels

Heat 1 – Cory Cochart, Kewaunee; Jamie Suchocki, Denmark
Heat 2 – Ben Kroll; Matt Junio, Casco
Heat 3 – Marty Abshire, Waukesha; Tony Bouche, Algoma
Heat 4 – Tyler Smith, Luxemburg; Polster

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee

Heat 1 – Jeff Lautenbach, Sturgeon Bay; VanLaanen
Heat 2 – DeGrave; Chris Christensen, Carlsville

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee

Heat 1 – Reinhardt; Vlies
Heat 2 – Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay

STREET STOCK FEATURE – Dennis Weidner, Maplewood; Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; John Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; James Iverson, Luxemburg; Todd Everard, Green Bay

Heat 1 – Sternard; James Anderson, Sturgeon Bay
Heat 2 – Everard; Weidner

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Tailer Ness, Abrams; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Brandon Long, Green Bay; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Mike Sargent, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Ness; Gross
Heat 2 – Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Tony Everard, Green Bay

Previous Post: McDermid Tops Mods; Two in a Row for Wiitala & Reinhardt at Thunderhill

Next Post: Matthias Claims IMCA Modified Victory


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 16, 2015 Race Results- The IMCA Sport Mod title is up for grabs as point leader Chris Budzban falters, while Jarred VanLaanen races into title chase with victory at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Tom Brumlic (IMCA Stock Car), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Next Sunday August 23 will be brought to you by Coors Light. Championship night is right around the corner on August 30….


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…