Czarneski Captures Second IMCA Modified Main at Thunderhill

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on August 2nd, 2008

By Chris Budzban

August 2, 2008; Sturgeon Bay, WI – Denmark’s Tim Czarneski held off New Franken’s Shawn Kilgore to pick up his second feature win of the season in the IMCA modifieds at the Forest County Potawatomi Thunderhill Raceway. Algoma’s Dave Bouche also found himself back in victory lane for the second time in the IMCA stock car division.

Czarneski powered his way on the top line early on in the race, building a sizable lead on the rest of the competition. Kevin Sternard and Shawn Kilgore battled for second, with Kilgore getting the advantage on the inside line. Kilgore would give chase, but Czarneski’s lead was too wide. A spin by Duwayne Mertens on the last lap ended the race, giving Czarneski the win. Kilgore would follow in second, Julie McDermid third, Sternard fourth and Mike Wedelstadt fifth.

The IMCA stock cars got off to another rocky start, with 3 caution flags before any laps were completed. Sturgeon Bay’s Don Aregoni would take the early lead, with Dave Bouche hot on his tail. Bouche tucked his car down by the tires and was able to clear Aregoni for the lead. Charlie Kroll made a charge on the outside of Bouche, but a caution flag flew for a spin by Scott Pagels. Bouche would restart in the lead with Von Eytcheson charging hard on his outside. Eytcheson held the lead for a few laps, but Bouche was able to roar back on the inside line and take the checkers. Eytcheson settled for second, followed by Charlie Kroll, Todd Polster and Ben Kroll.

The IMCA hobby stocks brought the fans another exciting finish. Luxemburg’s Frank Paul took the early lead on the outside, with Jarred VanLaanen challenging on the low line. Paul and VanLaanen would do battle for much of the race, but the lapped car of Cody LaViolette would come into play. Paul slowed for LaViolette and VanLaanen tried to take the lead, but VanLaanen made contact with LaViolette, bringing out a caution. VanLaanen was able to keep his machine rolling, so he would restart second with Dave DeGrave to his outside. Paul held off both drivers on the last corner, and slid across the line in first. VanLaanen lost control of his car, allowing Dave DeGrave and Brandon Peterson to sneak past for second and third, respectively. Luke Lemmens saved the day for VanLaanen, as he pushed VanLaanen across the line for fourth, giving Lemmens fifth.

Oconto’s Travis Cain made a rare appearance at Thunderhill, but made it pay off in a big way, picking up the feature win in the IMCA northern sport mod division. Cain passed 4-time feature winner Bernie Reinhardt on the outside and was able to cruise to victory. Reinhardt took second, Brad Lautenbach third, Jesse Kroll fourth and Aaron Holiday fifth.

The street stocks started with a big wreck caused by contact between Jacob Grovogel and Jimmy Anderson, sending several drivers down pit lane very early. Green Bay’s Todd Everard would be the beneficiary, as he would restart the race on the front row. Everard grabbed the lead with Jeremy Wiitala giving chase. Wiitala closed in on Everard, but pushed coming out of turn four with a few laps to go, giving Everard enough of a lead to bring home the victory. John Sternard, Gene Sternard and Thom Terrien rounded out the top 5.

Oneida’s Jason Cornelius bested Tony Everard, earning a clean sweep of the 4 cylinder division.

Next week Saturday there will be no racing at the Forest County Potawatomi Thunderhill Raceway due to the Door County Fair. This Wednesday night, August 6 will be an IMCA special event sponsored by Forest County Potawatomi with a 6:30 p.m. start time. Points will be for national and state, but no track points. All weekly divisions will be running with the exception of the street stocks. For more information, visit the website at or call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Julie McDermid, Oconto Falls; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont

Heat 1 – Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Kilgore
Heat 2 – Czarneski; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg
Heat 3 – Tom Stark, Egg Harbor; Sternard

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Dave Bouche, Algoma; Von Eytcheson, Forestville; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Todd Polster, Sturgeon Bay; Ben Kroll, New Franken

Semi-feature – Scott Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Tony Bouche, Algoma

Heat 1 – Jamie Suchocki, Forestville; Scott Pagels, Egg Harbor
Heat 2 – Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; John Anschutz, Brussels
Heat 3 – Don Aregoni, Sturgeon Bay; Dave Bouche

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee

Heat 1 – Roger LaViolette, Forestville; George Paul, Luxemburg
Heat 2 – Travis LuMaye, Brussels; Peterson

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Travis Cain, Oconto; Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay

Heat 1 – Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg; Kroll
Heat 2 – Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Reinhardt

STREET STOCK FEATURE – Todd Everard, Green Bay; Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; John Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Gene Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Thom Terrien, New Franken

Heat 1 – Everard; Dennis Weidner, Maplewood
Heat 2 – Gene Sternard; John Sternard

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Tyler DeBauche, Green Bay; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Jody Cornelius, Oneida

Heat 1 – Burlo; Everard
Heat 2 – Jason Cornelius; Jody Cornelius

Previous Post: Defending Champion LaCrosse Tops Mods; Two In a Row for Kroll

Next Post: McDermid Cashes In at Thunderhill’s Fair Night Special



By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) December 18, 2014 Press Release- Since the last press release several items have been added to the drivers meeting this Friday, December 19th at 7pm at the Draft Haus in Sturgeon Bay.

First and foremost we ask everyone to attend this meeting. Whether you’re on the fence about your 2015 plans or you’re a full-time Thunderhill racer, we want you there. To sweeten the pot, multiple driver giveaways will take place for those who attend. With lowered gas prices, a great…


Thunderhill 2015 Drivers Meeting Dec 19

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) December 9th Press Release- Thunderhill Raceway preps for the 2015 season and will hold it’s drivers meeting on Friday December 19th, at The Draft Haus Sports Bar at 7:00 pm. The Draft Haus is located at 901 Egg Harbor Rd. Sturgeon Bay.

Fresh off the $30,000 contingency awards banquet last month, promoter Woody Wodack feels the track gaining traction heading for the 2015 season. “We put together one of the best contingency packages any dirt track in northeastern Wisconsin has ever seen.”…