Billy LeMieux Captures Mod Feature; Wietor Tops Wild Stock Car Feature

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on July 26th, 2008

By Chris Budzban

July 26, 2008; Sturgeon Bay, WI – Sturgeon Bay’s Billy LeMieux became the 1st driver to win 2 features this season in the IMCA modified division at the Forest County Potawatomi Thunderhill Raceway. Green Bay’s Mike Wietor survived a wild race in the IMCA stock cars to pick up his 1st career feature win in the division.

LeMieux shot past early race leader Tim Czarneski off of a restart and would begin to build his lead with 4 laps remaining. Shawn Kilgore would charge hard on the inside up to second, and gave LeMieux a run for his money on the last lap. Kilgore would fall short and end up taking second place for the 4th time this season. Jay Matthias would end up third, Todd Dart fourth and Czarneski fifth.

Wietor took charge of the IMCA stock car feature after an early tangle between Scott Reinhardt and John Anschutz. Rick Mahlberg and Charlie Kroll ran side by side, and then each made the pass on Wietor down the backstretch. Mahlberg and Kroll would battle for the top spot with 2 laps to go, when contact between them sent Kroll airborne and Mahlberg into the infield. That would hand the lead back over to Wietor for a green-white-checker finish. Shawn Havel charged on the outside of Wietor at the white flag, but something broke on his car bringing out a caution and ending the race. Wietor was the victor, followed by Todd Polster, Matt Junio, Tony Bouche and Ben Kroll.

When Dave DeGrave isn’t winning the feature in the IMCA hobby stocks, it seems that Marcus Moede is always right there to take advantage of the opportunity. Moede took the lead late in the race from Scott Boulanger and held off Frank Paul by mere inches at the checkers. For Moede, it is his 3rd feature win of the season at Thunderhill. Paul would end up second, followed by Dave DeGrave, Boulanger and Jarred VanLaanen.

Rookie IMCA northern sport mod driver Brad Lautenbach picked up his 2nd feature win of the season at Thunderhill. Lautenbach made the outside line pass on fellow rookie Jesse Kroll, and held off a hard charging Rod Solem to take home the victory. Solem took home second, Ryan LeMieux third, Kroll fourth and Aaron Holiday fifth.

Seymour’s Jeremy Wiitala passed last week’s winner Aaron Thornton on the high line, and cruised through lapped traffic to pick up his 4th feature win of the season in the street stock division. Points leader John Sternard ended up third, Dan Merkle fourth and Thom Terrien fifth.

Green Bay’s Tyler DeBauche made a clean sweep in the 4 cylinder division, taking his heat race and holding off Jason Cornelius to bring home the feature win.

Next week’s races are sponsored by Jim Olson Motors. Racing gets underway at 6 p.m. on Saturday evening. The track’s website is For more information, call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Jay Matthias, DePere; Todd Dart, Algoma; Tim Czarneski, Denmark

Heat 1 – Czarneski; Kyle Kudick, Mishicot
Heat 2 – Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Randy LeMieux, Jr., Sturgeon Bay

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Mike Wietor, Green Bay; Todd Polster, Sturgeon Bay; Matt Junio, Casco; Tony Bouche, Algoma; Ben Kroll, New Franken

Semi-feature – Von Eytcheson, Forestville; Polster

Heat 1 – Bouche; Shawn Havel, Brussels
Heat 2 – John Anschutz, Brussels; Charlie Kroll, Forestville
Heat 3 – Rick Mahlberg, Green Bay; Scott Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay
Heat 4 – Ben Kroll; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay

Heat 1 – VanLaanen; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay
Heat 2 – Moede; George Paul, Luxemburg
Heat 3 – Jason LaViolette, Little Sturgeon; Frank Paul

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Rod Solem, Seymour; Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay

Heat 1 – LeMieux; Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee
Heat 2 – Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Kroll

STREET STOCK FEATURE – Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; Aaron Thornton, Maplewood; John Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Dan Merkle, Baileys Harbor; Thom Terrien, New Franken

Heat 1 – Thornton; Todd Everard, Green Bay
Heat 2 – Tim Jandrin, Kewaunee; Wiitala

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Tyler DeBauche, Green Bay; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Tony Everard, Green Bay

Heat 1 – DeBauche; Cornelius
Heat 2 – Burlo; Gross

Previous Post: Jerovetz Fends Off Kilgore at Thunderhill

Next Post: Defending Champion LaCrosse Tops Mods; Two In a Row for Kroll


2015 Thunderhill Raceway Motor Giveaways

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) Press Release January 8, 2015- Thunderhill Raceway competitors in the IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods and Street Stocks will be racing for brand new engines. Last season Thunderhill boasted a $30,000 contingency plan at the champions awards banquet, the same will take place in 2015.

The IMCA Stock Cars will be competing for an Extreme Enterprises 500 spec engine valued at $5,000. Jim Olson Motors of Sturgeon Bay has once again stepped up with a brand new GM 602 Crate engine giveaway…



By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) December 18, 2014 Press Release- Since the last press release several items have been added to the drivers meeting this Friday, December 19th at 7pm at the Draft Haus in Sturgeon Bay.

First and foremost we ask everyone to attend this meeting. Whether you’re on the fence about your 2015 plans or you’re a full-time Thunderhill racer, we want you there. To sweeten the pot, multiple driver giveaways will take place for those who attend. With lowered gas prices, a great…