Next Event » July 5th - 3rd Annual John Soukup Memorial ($1,000 to win sport mods) @ 5:30pm

1st Career Modified Win for Czarneski at Thunderhill

Posted under Headlines, Race Reports on May 17th, 2008

By Chris Budzban

May 17, 2008; Sturgeon Bay, WI – One night after Tim Czarneski rolled his IMCA modified, he took home the checkers at Thunderhill in his backup car. Jeff Vlies also took home his first career IMCA northern sport mod feature win.

James Tebon had the lead early on, but Czarneski took to the high side and reeled him in at the halfway point. Czarneski built up a sizable lead on the field running the top line, and cruised to his first career IMCA modified feature win. Todd Dart took advantage of contact between Kevin Sternard and Tebon to sneak into second. Dart was followed by Sternard, Jeremy Jacobs and Tebon at the line.

Von Eytcheson looked very strong taking home his first IMCA stock car feature of the year. He took the lead from Mike Pierrard early and never looked back. Matt Junio and Greg Gretz charged through the field to second and third, respectively, followed by Charlie Kroll and last week’s winner Dave Bouche.

Dave DeGrave’s streak of four feature wins in a row came to an end, as a flat tire put him several laps down early in the IMCA hobby stocks. Chad Kaminski would take charge early, but last year’s Fall Classic winner Marcus Moede would be right on his tail. Moede took the inside line under Kaminski and survived a late race caution to take the victory. Kaminski followed in second, Jarred VanLaanen, Jeff Lautenbach and Roger LaViolette rounded out the top five.

Last year’s IMCA hobby stock track champion Keith Kickbusch led every lap up until there were two to go, when Jeff Vlies wrestled the lead away, picking up his first career IMCA northern sport mod feature win. Kickbusch took second, Marcus Yarie, Eric Arneson and Tim Jorgenson followed.

Todd Everard drove past early race leader Jeremy Wiitala to earn the victory in the street stocks. Last week’s winner John Sternard had another great run taking second and Harley Simon took third. Wiitala settled for fourth and David Hoerning took fifth.

Two-time defending track champion Tony Everard fought off a late race battle with Jason Cornelius to take the win in the 4 cylinders.

Next week is sponsored by Carlsville Engineering of Sturgeon Bay. IMCA hobby stock drivers will be introduced before their feature event. Racing gets underway at 6 p.m. on Saturday evening. The track’s website is For more information, call (920) 743-7052.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Todd Dart, Algoma; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; James Tebon, Algoma

Heat 1 – Tebon; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken
Heat 2 – Tom Stark, Sturgeon Bay; Jay Matthias, DePere

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Von Eytcheson, Forestville; Matt Junio, Casco; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Dave Bouche, Algoma

Semi-feature 1 – Cory Cochart, Kewaunee; Kevin Charles, Green Bay
Semi-feature 2 – Ben Kroll, New Franken; Don Aregoni, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Eytcheson; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay
Heat 2 – Junio; Shawn Havel, Brussels
Heat 3 – Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Gretz
Heat 4 – Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Rick Mahlberg, Green Bay

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay; Jeff Lautenbach, Sturgeon Bay; Roger LaViolette, Forestville

Heat 1 – Kaminski; LaViolette
Heat 2 – Moede; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee; Marcus Yarie, Wausau; Eric Arneson, Coleman; Tim Jorgenson, Seymour

Heat 1 – Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Vlies
Heat 2 – Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg

STREET STOCK FEATURE – Todd Everard, Green Bay; John Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; Harley Simon, Seymour; Jeremy Wiitala, Seymour; David Hoerning, Appleton

Heat 1 – Wiitala; Simon
Heat 2 – Kevin Damorow, Manitowoc; Everard

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – Tony Everard, Green Bay; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Kasey Gross, Gleason; Jeremy DuBois, Sturgeon Bay; Mike Sargent, Sturgeon Bay

Heat 1 – Cornelius; Jared Smith, Luxemburg
Heat 2 – Everard, Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay


Next Post: Wedelstadt Dominates at Thunderhill


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 21, 2015 Results- Shawn Havel took his Wolfe Racing Chassis IMCA Stock Car to victory for the second week in a row at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Tyler Hackett (IMCA Modified), Jacob Zellner (IMCA Sport Mod), Marcus Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) and James Dahlstrom (Street Stock).

Five members were inducted into the Thunderhill Raceway Hall of Fame. They were Wally Massart, Darrell Massart, Reggie Cochart, Jerry Jonet and George Henkel.

Next Sunday, June 28 will feature the Powder Puff and will be brought to you by NAPA Auto Parts of Sturgeon Bay. Racing…


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) Sunday, June 14 2015 Results- Shawn Havel used a late race restart to snatch victory from Scott Reinhardt in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Tyler Hackett (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Marcus Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) and James Dahlstrom (Street Stock). A total of 73 cars we on hand for the new night as well as a solid crowd.

Next Sunday, June 21 will feature the 2nd Annual Hall of Fame induction presented…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 5, 2015 Press Release- You heard that correct, SUNDAY! In a move to try and improve car count and fan attendance, Thunderhill Raceway has decided to move its Terry Simon Memorial to this Sunday June 7 with a new start time of 5:30pm. In action will be the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Street Stocks and the Thunder Trucks. Fans will receive free popcorn.

Track promoter Woody Wodack has been on the phone with drivers and sponsors to get the word out on the change. “The amount of…