Terry Simon Memorial This Saturday June 22 at Thunderhill Free Popcorn Night & Mod Intros

Posted under News on June 20th, 2013

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 20, 2013 Press Release- The 2nd Annual Terry Simon Memorial will kick off night No. 5 at Thunderhill Raceway this Saturday night June 22. Race fans will be treated to free Pop Corn with a paid wristband. The Kelsey Racing IMCA Modifieds will be in the spotlight and will feature driver introductions before their feature.

Eagles Inside Groove…Not much has changed with Mother Nature claiming the features last Saturday. The biggest thing we need at the Hill is warm sunny weather. We are just above the .500 mark when it comes to battling water falling from the sky. I don’t like say that “R” word, its bad luck!

The Egg Harbor Fun Park go-karts have quickly become a hit with race fans. For the foreseeable future we will have kids that are 4’ and taller get an extra ticket at the ticket booth AFTER the nightly events have started. We will draw 3 tickets before the final heat race of the night and those kids will be able to race their favorite driver. If your child wins please make sure to come up to the announcers tower and let me know who your favorite racer is and we will do our best to get them on the go-kart track for your race at intermission.

So far 12 drivers have tasted feature wins, they include Jared Siefert and Dan Ratajczak in the IMCA Modifieds. IMCA Stock Cars drivers Shawn Havel, Luke Lemmens and Bret Koehler. Jarred VanLaanen, Chris Budzban and Bernie Reinhardt in the IMCA Sport Mods, Scott Boulanger in the IMCA Hobby Stocks. Von Eytcheson, Keith Kickbusch and Brandon Peterson in the Street Stocks.

When it comes to feature wins Scott Boulanger leads all divisions with 3 on the season. The IMCA Hobby Stock driver from Luxemburg is looking for his first career track championship. The Hobby’s have only ran 3 features so he sits perfect so far. The only other repeat feature win is Frog Station’s Dan Ratajczak in the IMCA Modifieds, he has 2 wins on the season.

As for heat race wins 31 drivers have earned a checkered flag 8 of those drivers hold more than one win. Derek Moede of Casco leads all classes with 3 heat race wins in his IMCA Hobby Stock.

10 heat races have been completed in the IMCA Stock Cars with 9 different winners. The only repeat winner is Algoma’s Tony Bouche is his Ford powered machine.

Thunderhill Raceway pink ribbon decals can be purchased in the Dan Lewis Photography and Souvenir trailer located behind the grandstand. 100% of the proceeds go into our Door Cancer account to help local families battling cancer.

Five divisions do battle every Saturday night through the summer. IMCA Modified, IMCA Stock Car, IMCA Northern Sport Mod, IMCA Hobby Stock and Street Stocks will compete on the 1/3rd mile clay oval. For more information, please visit the track’s website at Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side. Track GPS address is 1116 N 15th Pl. Pit gates open at 3:30 P.M. racing starts at 6:00 P.M. For your social media outlet like Thunderhill Raceway on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.


Next Post: Thunderhill Speedway is cancelled for tonight June 22


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 16, 2015 Race Results- The IMCA Sport Mod title is up for grabs as point leader Chris Budzban falters, while Jarred VanLaanen races into title chase with victory at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Greg Gretz (IMCA Modified), Tom Brumlic (IMCA Stock Car), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock), Phil Faustini (Street Stock) and Nathan Delsart (Thunder Truck)

Next Sunday August 23 will be brought to you by Coors Light. Championship night is right around the corner on August 30….


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) August 9, 2015 Results- Tony Bouche made a last lap, last corner pass on Jamie Suchocki to steal the win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock), Billy LeMieux (Street Stock) and Tory Peterson (Thunder Truck). Adam Sternard took home the win and $500 in the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Action was red flagged twice on the night. The first was for…


(Sturgeon Bay, WI – 7/29/2015)

Chances are, Billy LeMieux will long remember the last week of July, 2015.

After winning two features on Sunday, he came back to repeat the feat Wednesday night as Thunderhill Raceway’s program shifted to midweek to open the Door County Fair.

Joining LeMieux in victory lane on the night were Tyler Hackett in the Modifieds, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Travis LuMaye in the Hobby Stocks and Nathan Delsart in the Thunder Trucks.

Winning two features in a night is a slick trick on its own, but four features in a single week had never been…