Terry Simon Memorial decal 12

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 20- Prestige Yacht Coatings Thunderhill Raceway pays tribute to long time track supporter and Door County resident, Terry Simon. Terry and his wife Darlene were a main stay at all local dirt tracks including sponsoring several cars over the years. Sadly in January we lost Terry in a logging accident, Saturday night June 23 will be dedicated it his memory with the first Annual Terry Simon Memorial.

Darlene will have decals for sale to commemorate the night, $5each or 3 for $10. Decals can also be purchased at the Troy Muench trailer. All proceeds raised will be put into drivers payout for that night.

The night will be brought to you by long time track sponsor Wicked Witch Racing. Due to last week being cancelled the Bob Brown Memorial will also take place this Saturday. The same goes for Jim Olson Motors being part of the nightly sponsor with giveaways for free oil changes.

In the IMCA Modifieds Algoma’s James Lee Tebon sit’s atop the standings having won the first two point nights. A three car tie for the runner up position has Kewaunee’s Cory Cochart, Oconto Falls rookie Eric Arneson and 6 time Mod champ Todd Dart of Algoma looking to end Tebon’s winning streak.

Defending track champion out of Brussels, Troy Muench, Algoma’s Dave Bouche and Kewaunee’s Greg Gretz sit tied for the lead in the IMCA Stock Cars. Gretz and Muench each have one feature win the season and both hold titles in the Stock Cars. Bouche has had a consistent two nights of racing and has a Street Stock championship to his credit at Thunderhill coming in 1995.

The IMCA Sport Mods have 5 drivers within 10 markers of opening night feature winner and point leader Randy LeMieux Jr., of Sturgeon Bay. Jarred VanLaanen of Green Bay has one feature win to his credit and sits just 1 point out of first. Veteran racer Bernie Reinhardt of Sturgeon Bay sits third 5 markers back, Sturgeon Bay’s Martin Kelsey is having the best start to a season sitting fourth, 9 points out, Kelsy Hayes also of Sturgeon Bay sits fifth 10 back of LeMieux. Of that group Reinhardt is the only driver that has a championship at Thunderhill winning the Bomber title in 1994 and Street Stocks in 1999.

Algoma’s Travis Hackett holds a slim 1 point margin over Denmark’s Tom Brumlic in the IMCA Hobby Stocks. No matter how the points shake out their will be a first time champion crown in this division.

The same can also be said for the Street Stocks, as former champion Geno Sternard of Sturgeon missed the first night of racing. Maplewood native Dennis Weidner leads the chase for the title with a 2 point edge over Sturgeon Bay’s Marvin Denny

For more information, visit the track’s website at Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer. IMCA Modified, IMCA Stock Car, IMCA Northern Sport Mod, IMCA Hobby Stock, Street Stock and Feisty Fours in action. Pit gates open at 3:30 P.M. racing starts at 6:00 P.M. You can also follow Thunderhill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter.