Next Event » July 5th - 3rd Annual John Soukup Memorial ($1,000 to win sport mods) @ 5:30pm

3rd Annual John Soukup Memorial July 5

Latest News


Posted under Race Reports on June 29th, 2015

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 28, 2015 Results- In the IMCA Stock Cars Troy Muench withstood all challengers to claim his first feature win of the season at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Tyler Hackett (IMCA Modified), Jacob Zellner (IMCA Sport Mod), Ford Malvitz (IMCA Hobby Stock) and Billy LeMieux (Street Stock).

Next Sunday, July 5 will feature the $1000 to win Topless IMCA Sport Mod feature for the 3rd Annual John Soukup Memorial. Racing starts at 5:30PM

The Powder Puff race was one to remember as Abby Denzel and Michelle Budzban slugged it out on the final lap for the win. Like a couple of heavyweight boxers Denzel and Budzban slammed into each other coming to the checker. Denzel ended up sideways after the contact and Budzban drilled her in the drivers door and pushed her across the finish line. Denzel picked up the win as the crowd came to their feet. Other drivers were Becca Jandrin, Cassie Nolan, Colby Woldt and Mindy Dax.

It was Troy Muench moving from the outside pole and to the lead early in the IMCA Stock Car feature before action was red flagged on lap 2 as Kyle Resch rolled his car in turn 4. Resch emerged unscathed but his machine was done for the night. On the restart Scott Reinhardt and Dave Bouche chased after Muench. With Muench running low Reinhardt went to the top groove and pulled even. Lap after lap Reinhardt worked high as Bouche worked over the leaders rear bumper. With 3 laps remaining Reinhardt nabbed the lead but Muench came storming back underneath to retake the lead and the win. Dave Bouche was able to get second on the final lap, Reinhardt had another great run to place third, Tony Bouche was fourth and Craig Dorner was fifth.

A $100 bounty was on the line in the IMCA Hobby Stocks for anyone who could end Marcus Moede’s winning streak, everyone brought their A-game. Moede ended up having to start last due to mechanical issues in his heat. Justin Hartel looked strong early but it wasn’t enough as Ford Malvitz made the pass for the top spot on lap 5. Several cautions kept the field close allowing Dave Schmidt and Moede to slowly work through the field and to the leaders bumper. Malvitz hugged the low groove and was never shaken, holding off the top two in points, scoring his first ever feature win and collecting the Mike’s Automotive $100 bounty. Moede won a race long battle with Schmidt for second, CJ Weckler was fourth and Brandon Peterson rallied to fifth after a flat tire.

Tyler Hackett continued his winning ways with a clean sweep in the IMCA Modifieds. Hackett built up a lead early but a caution put Greg Gretz and Todd Dart right on the rear spoiler. When the raced resumed Hackett checked out leading all the laps en route to his 4th feature in a row. Gretz was second, Dart third, Randy Theys fourth and Tyler DeBouche completed the top five.

Jacob Zellner made it 2 in a row in the IMCA Sport Mods. Zellner lead every lap and went unchallenged. Josh Lambert won his heat took and placed second, Bernie Reinhardt was third. Tom Stark rallied late to place a solid fourth and Cody Rass was fifth.

In Street Stock action it is was Billy LeMieux leading from the drop of the green all the way to the checker flag in the caution free event. It was a clean sweep for LeMieux as he also won his heat race. LeMieux was trailed at the line by James Dahlstrom, Phil Faustini, Duwayne Mertens and Kipp Burlo in his first run of the season.


18 LAP ROUER’S GRAND SLAM IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Troy Muench, Brussels; 2. Dave Bouche, Algoma; 3. Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor; 4. Tony Bouche, Algoma; 5. Craig Dorner, Luxemburg

HEAT 1: David Reinhardt, Fish Creek; Rick Dix, Green Bay
HEAT 2: Muench; Tom Brumlic, Denmark

18 LAP KELSEY RACING IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Tyler Hackett, Algoma; 2. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; 3. Todd Dart, Algoma; 4. Randy Theys, Algoma; 5. Tyler DeBouche, Green Bay

HEAT 1: Hackett; Dart

18 LAP LAVINE’S ICE IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Jacob Zellner, New Franken; 2. Josh Lambert, Casco; 3. Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Tom Stark, Egg Harbor; 5. Cody Rass, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Josh Lambert, Casco; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay
HEAT 2: Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; Zellner

18 LAP LACKIE RENTALS IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1. Ford Malvitz, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Marcus Moede, Algoma; 3. Dave Schmidt, Casco; 4. CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Dean Anhalt, Mishicot; Weckler
HEAT 2: Peterson; Travis LuMaye Forestville

18 LAP REESE’S AUTOBODY STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; 2. James Dahlstrom. Denmark; 3. Phil Faustini, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Duwayne Mertens, Luxemburg; 5. Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: LeMieux; Mertens


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 21, 2015 Results- Shawn Havel took his Wolfe Racing Chassis IMCA Stock Car to victory for the second week in a row at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Tyler Hackett (IMCA Modified), Jacob Zellner (IMCA Sport Mod), Marcus Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) and James Dahlstrom (Street Stock).

Five members were inducted into the Thunderhill Raceway Hall of Fame. They were Wally Massart, Darrell Massart, Reggie Cochart, Jerry Jonet and George Henkel.

Next Sunday, June 28 will feature the Powder Puff…


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) Sunday, June 14 2015 Results- Shawn Havel used a late race restart to snatch victory from Scott Reinhardt in the IMCA Stock Cars at Thunderhill Raceway. Other feature winners were Tyler Hackett (IMCA Modified), Vince Engebregtsen (IMCA Sport Mod), Marcus Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) and James Dahlstrom (Street Stock). A total of 73 cars we on hand for the new night as well as a solid crowd.

Next Sunday, June 21 will feature the 2nd Annual Hall of Fame induction presented…


By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) June 5, 2015 Press Release- You heard that correct, SUNDAY! In a move to try and improve car count and fan attendance, Thunderhill Raceway has decided to move its Terry Simon Memorial to this Sunday June 7 with a new start time of 5:30pm. In action will be the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Street Stocks and the Thunder Trucks. Fans will receive free popcorn.

Track promoter Woody Wodack has been on the phone with drivers and sponsors to get the word out on the change. “The amount of…