Photos provided by Dan Lewis Photography (www.danlewisphoto.net)

By Edward Anschutz

(Sturgeon Bay, WI) May 7 – Luxemburg’s Jeremy Jacobs made it a double header weekend after taking the checkers Friday night at Luxemburg and tonight at Prestige Yacht Coatings ThunderHill Raceway. Other feature winners were Troy Muench (stockcar), Jesse Kroll (sport mod), Brandon Peterson (hobby Stock), Geno Sternard (street stock) and Calvin Stueck (four-cylinders).

Drivers and fans were treat to a sunny after noon at John Miles Park. The track stayed hard and smooth all night.

Jeremy Jacobs used his front row starting spot to lead the opening paces in the Kelsey Racing IMCA Modifieds. At the half way point the caution would fly for the stalled machine of Evan Madden. Once the race restarted Shawn Kilgore would make his presence felt and challenge Jacobs for the top spot up high. Jacobs would begin to inch away from Kilgore and this would allow defending Champion Jay Matthias to work down low and get to the back bumper of Jacobs but he wasn’t able to make a play for the lead and the win went to Jacobs his second of the weekend, followed by Matthias, Kilgore, Todd Dart and James Tebon.

Troy Muench would muscle his way inside Don Aregoni on lap 6 and never look back picking the feature win in the Algoma Motors IMCA Stock Cars.

Veteran Don Aregoni would jump to an early lead from his front row starting spot. Muench who start fourth quickly made his presence felt and worked to the inside of Aregoni out of turn two taking the lead and distancing himself from the field and would go on to win the caution free event. Aregoni would take a solid second, Shawn Havel would make a late race charge and finish third, Jeremy Jauquet and Scott Reinhardt rounded out the top 5.

Jesse Kroll survived a side by side battle with Randy LeMieux Jr. to take home the checkers in the Butch’s Auto IMCA Northern Sport Mods.

Veteran Randy LeMieux Jr. quickly jumped to the point from his front row starting spot but it only took 3 laps before Jesse Kroll worked to the inside and the battle was on. The pair would run door to door the next several laps until a caution with 9 laps remaining would bunch the field. Kroll would with stand a late race charge and pick up the opening night win. LeMieux Jr. would hold on for second, third went to Brad Lautenbach, Steve Georgenson and Tom Stark would round out the top 5.

Brandon Peterson made a last lap pass to take home the win in the Coors Light IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Marcus Moede would use his front row starting spot to take the point in the early laps. 2010 Rookie of the year Travis Hackett began to challenge Moede for the top spot. The pair ran door to door with Hackett securing the lead on lap 11. Brandon Peterson would make his presence felt as he worked around Moede for second. It appeared Hackett had the race won when out of turn 4 he would get caught behind a lapped car. Hackett would pile into the back of the lap car, Peterson would shoot to the top side out of turn 4 as the checkers flew passing Hackett by inches for the win. Hackett would settle for second, Moede third, CJ Weckler fourth with Tom Brumlic fifth.

In the Lackie Rentals and Remodeling Street Stocks defending Track Champion Geno Sternard made the pass on Les Sternard on lap four and would never look back on the caution free event picking up the opening night win. Aaron Thornton would place second, Les Sternard third, Ed Franklin and Tony Everard rounded out the top five.

Calvin Stueck would make it a clean sweep winning the heat and feature in the caution free event for the Denil Auto and Trucking Feisty Fours.

Next week, May 14 will be brought to you by the Draft House of Sturgeon Bay and will feature driver introductions for the IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Thunderhill is located at the John Miles Fair Park on Sturgeon Bay’s east side with racing in the six divisions beginning every Saturday night through the summer at 6:00 PM. For more information, visit the track’s website at www.racethunderhill.com You can also follow ThunderHill Raceway on Facebook and Twitter.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; 2. Jay Matthias, DePere; 3. Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; 4. Todd Dart, Algoma; 5. James Tebon, Algoma

HEAT 1: Dart; Matthias
HEAT 2: Tebon; Dan Ratajzcak, Frog Station

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Troy Muench, Union; 2. Don Aregoni, Sturgeon Bay; 3. Shawn Havel, Algoma; 4. Jeremy Jauquet, Green Bay; 5. Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor

HEAT 1: Muench; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee
HEAT 2: Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Havel
HEAT 3: Dave Bouche, Algoma; Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay

IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Jesse Kroll, Algoma; 2. Randy LeMieux Jr., Sturgeon Bay; 3. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; 4. Steve Georgenson, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Tom Stark, Egg Harbor

HEAT 1: Lautenbach; Georgenson
HEAT 2: LeMieux Jr.; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay
HEAT 3: Kelsy Hayes, Sturgeon Bay; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE: 1. Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Travis Hackett, Algoma; 3. Marcus Moede, Algoma; 4. CJ Weckler, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Tom Brumlic, Denmark

HEAT 1: Weckler; Dave Schmidt, Algoma
HEAT 2: Hackett; Moede

STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Geno Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 2. Aaron Thornton, Maplewood; 3. Les Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; 4. Ed Franklin, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Tony Everard, Green Bay

HEAT 1: Kipp Burlo, Sturgeon Bay; Geno Sternard
HEAT 2: Les Sternard; Dennis Weidner, Sturgeon Bay

4 CYLINDER FEATURE: 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville; 2. Kasey Gross, Gleason; 3. Charley Gross, Gleason; 4. Steve Skippon, Sturgeon Bay; 5. Joey Scoon, Sturgeon Bay

HEAT 1: Stueck; Matt Borths, Green Bay